This time, I listened in A day in the life...

  • July 14, 2014, 8:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Have you ever felt that God was telling you to do something? You believers know what I mean. You get that urgent feeling that you're being called to do something RIGHT NOW. I've had that happen before but I always questioned it. Is that really God talking to me or just my own thoughts? How can I really tell? Well, today it happened again and I decided to listen and do what I was being told to do.

After work today I met up with my friend Amanda to talk about starting a little side business selling these nail wraps called Jamberries...they are so cool! But more about that later. Anyway, after leaving Amanda I was driving down 75 South headed home. I was about 3 miles away from my exit when I drove by an older black gentleman walking down the highway. Right as I passed him this voice went through my head....stop and give that man a ride! Well, I had driven a little too far past him to pull over and wait so I took the next exit, got back on 75 going North, took that for three miles to the next exit, took that exit and then got back on 75 South and drove until I saw him again. I pulled over a little ahead of him and waited. He walked up and I asked him if I could give him a ride somewhere. He said he would be grateful if I could take him as far as I could because he was trying to get home to his wife and son in Kentucky. He hopped in and off we went. I told him I was Amy, he told me his name was Dan, and we just started chatting away. I told him what made me turn around and come back for him and he said it was funny because just before I got to him he was praying Lord, please help me get back to my family. I told him I'd help him as much as I could. I live about 30 miles north of Toledo so I drove past my exit and told him I could take him to Toledo and he said that was perfect because there's a place there that he could go to get some help with possibly getting a bus ticket for the rest of the way. He told me about his wife and son (who's 4) and I told him about my family and we talked about places we've lived and foods we liked. I never once felt uncomfortable or uneasy or anything. It was like talking to a good friend. We got into Toledo and I dropped him off at the Greyhound station (he said he'd go inside and find out where the place was that could help him because he was sure it was just a few blocks from there). Before he got out I reached into my purse and pulled out all the cash I had (about $18) and told him I was sorry I couldn't give him more but at least he could get something to eat and drink. His eyes welled up with tears and he said "Amy, Amy....I don't know how to thank you." I told him no need, I just wanted him to get home safely to his family. I told him it was a pleasure to meet him and he said the same and we parted ways. He was such a sweet gentleman and it truly was a pleasure to meet him, and I'm so, so glad I didn't ignore or question what God was telling me to do. It's a wonderful feeling knowing you've been a blessing to someone :-)

I wish I could do more for people...that would be my dream come true. I want to babysit for struggling families for free and clean their homes. I want to take people trying to get home back to their families. I want to take elderly people to their doctor appointments or to get groceries...wherever they need to go.

I had a lot of struggles in my life when I was a young single mother and there was not one time when God didn't put someone in my path to help me out. Josh (my son) says that we made it because I was strong, but he's so wrong! I'm not strong...not by myself. I'm strong because God makes me strong. I shudder to think of where I (and Josh) would be today if it weren't for God's blessings, grace and mercy.

Phillippians 4:13 - "I can do all things through Christ, who gives me strength."

Amazing Grace, indeed!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.