Disappear in Will Fly For Food

  • July 14, 2014, 8:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I sometimes get the feeling I could disappear entirely from the internet and be totally ok with that. Would anyone notice? Would anyone care?
Take Facebook for instance. It used to be way better than it is now. Now it is 98% people sharing stupid shit I could care less about. Contests, those stupid "82% of you aren't strong enough to share this". Or "Like and share if you hate cancer". Seriously? Does anyone like cancer? I like the stuff that has meaning, that has purpose. I like talking with my friends if someone is having a bad day. I like seeing pictures of funny stuff they saw, or a great photo from their vacation, or a photo ( A photo. One) of their kid. If I took the bullshit out of the equation I bet there are 3 posts in the last few days that I actually give a shit about.

But you can't get rid of it because it's practically unheard of for someone to NOT have Facebook. Everyone has it. It's almost an expectation anymore. Someone without Facebook is like someone without a checking account or without a cell phone. It's so rare.

I also realize the sheer amount of time we waste on the internet each day. At work we cruise yahoo articles and local news routinely. If it's really slow we might break out Facebook or YouTube. How much more productive could we be if we didn't have that. How many more books would we read, how many more good conversations would we have if there weren't distractions like iPhones and iPads and YouTube. How much more sex would n and I have if we didn't have to compete for each other's attention. It really sucks losing to an iPad.

Just going back to Facebook, how many people get in trouble at work, or in their relationships, or in life because of the opportunities Facebook presents. I got a guy fired from his job a few years ago after he added me as a friend on Facebook after he had helped me with a problem with my cell phone because I thought it was totally inappropriate. Just a few months ago a teenage girl lost her father a large lawsuit after she bragged about the sealed verdict on her Facebook page. How many stupid teenagers are there who post photos of themselves getting drunk, or using drugs and then are baffled why they can't get a real job. How about that SnapChat app that says it deletes the pictures after x seconds. Then it surfaced later the pictures weren't necessarily being deleted. That stuff we put out there on the internet, it's gone. It's out. It's out of our control. In 20 years do I want my coworkers to see that photo of me drunk, peeing on a potted plant on my friends 21st birthday? Probably not.

Ugh.
<3 Sarah


dickson. July 14, 2014

I hate Facebook. You're right, it used to be so much better than it is today. It was actually a way to connect with people. Now it's a fucking waste of my damn time. But like you said, I can't get rid of it BECAUSE EVERYONE HAS IT.

Oye.

pbrman July 14, 2014

I thought I was the only one who urinated on potted plants, I feel a little better now, not much but a little.

Star Maiden pbrman ⋅ July 14, 2014

Lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.