Do I or don't I? in A day in the life...

  • June 22, 2014, 5:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got an email on Friday from that lady Susanna who wants to send me on an interview at a medium-sized law firm in Detroit. The firm is interested in me and wants to meet/interview me. I don't know what to do. On one hand, I'm really happy at the job I'm at now even though it doesn't pay as much as I used to make. I know going back to work at a law firm will pay a lot more, but I also know it'll be a helluva lot more stress. Where I'm at now is low to no stress. Do I interview or not? I'm happy with staying where I'm at and making less money and I don't care if we have to cut back on some things. I also still clean and babysit, so I'm bringing in some extra money as well. It's my husband. He gets stressed about money and then I start panicking. He did it this morning and I've felt like I'm on the verge of an anxiety attack all day long. Part of me wants to say to him that if he's so freaking concerned with money then maybe he needs to do something about getting the child support lowered now that Michaela is 18 and has graduated, but I know that'll just start a big fight and then a big chill between us. Sometimes I feel like I can't win.

I cleaned the office building on Friday after I got off work. When I got there Adam and I talked for a few minutes before he left about when I could get back to their house and do some more cleaning. They were going out of town this weekend and he asked if I would go in and clean on Saturday while they were gone as a surprise for Alayna (his wife). I said sure and he told me how to get in the house. Now, if you remember, this is the house that I told you took me over 6 hours just to clean the tiny kitchen the first time I went there. I've been back a few times since the first time and every time I go back the kitchen is ALWAYS a disaster again. The kitchen and the living/dining room. It's unreal. Anyway, after sleeping in yesterday morning (it felt wonderful!) I went to the house. The kitchen was horrible again and the living/dining room was even worse! I let out a big sigh and got to work. This time I cleaned the bathroom, too. I took before and after pictures and uploaded them to photobucket but when I tried to post them on here it wouldn't work. Figures. Oh well...let's just say the kitchen, living/dining room and bathroom looked phenomenal when I got done :-)

I did something really stupid while I was cleaning the office building on Friday evening. I was there alone and was listening to my music while I was cleaning. At one point I kept thinking I heard a bell ringing so I took one of my ear buds out and yep, there was a doorbell ringing. I looked out the front door and there was no one there so I walked back to the back door. I could see someone through the window (it's one of those windows that isn't clear so you can't see exactly who's on the other side, you can just see a silhouette) so I opened the door. It was some young guy. He had one of the business's work shirts on so I let him in because he said he had to go to the bathroom. I had already cleaned the bathrooms so of course he goes in the downstairs one and takes a big smelly dump. Anyway, I was sweeping Adam's office when the guy got done and he came and stood at the door and watched me for a minute. It kind of made me nervous because, like I said, I was all alone. But luckily he left and I finished up. When I got home I told hubby about it and he was very unhappy with me. I was like, "But he had one of the business's shirts on!" and Tony said "A lot of rapists and murderers work at normal jobs, Amy! Don't you remember when we lived in Illinois and that guy who worked for Comcast raped and murdered a lady at a house where he was doing a service call??" He had a point, so I promised him I'd never do it again. It really was a dumb thing to do. Thank you, Jesus, for watching over me yet again!

Since I slept in yesterday I didn't get much sleep last night and Ben got here at 7:30 this morning. I usually only have him until 2:30 but Carly asked if we'd keep him longer so she and her boyfriend could go out. Sure...it's extra money. Let me tell you, this kid has developed quite a set of lungs on him in the past couple of weeks! Used to be that when Carly would drop him off he'd cry for a few seconds until we stood in front of the patio doors and he could watch her leave. Now he lets out blood-curdling high-pitched screams. The screaming doesn't last long, thank God, but Lord have mercy! It goes right though me, especially when I'm sleep-deprived. Right now he's sitting on the coffee table chewing on a car and watching Shrek 2. I'm pretty sure he's teething because he is a total drool monster right now and he chews on anything and everything he gets his hands on

Oh, about the lawsuit and hearing that was supposed to be this past Friday - I got a voicemail from Victoria (one of my attorneys) on Thursday. The court called and said there was a conflict and they needed to reschedule the hearing. It'll either be this coming Friday or not until July 18. Victoria didn't know yet because she hadn't yet had a chance to call the court back. I'm not worried...this stuff happens all the time. So stay tuned for more information in the near future, hopefully.

We watched The Crow last night. I love that movie. Yes, it's full of violence and foul language, but I still love it. The part that touches me so much and always makes me shed a few tears is at the end, when Shelly comes back for Eric after he's finished what he was sent back to do. I don't want to go into too much detail in case any of you haven't seen it. But when she walks up to him and touches his face and smiles at him before kissing him...oh man, bring on the Kleenex! The music that's playing during that scene makes it even more touching. If any of you haven't seen it, you're missing out. Go watch it!

Okay, I'm out of things to talk about for the moment so I'm going to finish watching Shrek 2 with Ben. I hope you all had a fabulous weekend!

Much love....xoxo


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.