Improved image processing in Site Updates

  • June 20, 2014, 5:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Or at least I hope.

I've learned a bit about image formats since I started Prosebox. Apparently there's this thing called EXIF (Exchangeable Image File Format) which wreaks all kinds of havoc on traditional JPG processing. So people uploading files directly from their iPhones or cameras will have these images stored in odd orientations, but with header data describing the correct orientation. Without getting too deep into the weeds, let's just say that if you've ever uploaded a picture and it showed up sideways or upside down, this is what I'm talking about.

Since my image resizing tool didn't seem to take this into account when processing images, I've switched to something which hopefully does. So if you've had this problem in the past, see if it works correctly the next time you change your profile picture.

It also does "smart" image cropping, which means that if you don't upload a perfectly square image, it should no longer have a skewed aspect ratio (though there's no guarantee about what part gets cropped off).

Have a good weekend all!


Cat Mommy June 20, 2014

So image transparency won't be affected on images that aren't uploaded from a mobile device?

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ June 20, 2014

It will actually. Everything will be converted to JPG as part of the image processing. Couldn't really figure out a good way around that and still get the other stuff.

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ June 20, 2014

Scratch that. I think I have the near-perfect solution in place now, with PNG files saving as PNG files. So no transparency loss. :) (let me know if you discover otherwise)

Who's Laughing Now? June 20, 2014

TL;DR.

Deleted user Who's Laughing Now? ⋅ June 24, 2014

lmao

Who's Laughing Now? Deleted user ⋅ June 25, 2014

Woah, did I post that? Really? Must have been drunk.

Jack June 20, 2014

Exchangeable Image File Format -- makes my head hurt just to say it

Wicked Nights June 21, 2014

Hobbes!

Pretty Fly Jedi June 21, 2014

Thank you!!!! I thought I was crazy with this picture thing lol!! I'm glad to know it was technical schtuff !

Everything Good Rebecca June 21, 2014

Thank you for this!

Nebiyah June 21, 2014

Awesome. I love how you educate us at the same time :)

MemoryFails June 22, 2014

:) <3

BentnotBroken June 22, 2014

Yanno,I love when you explain things to common techno dummies like me. Makes me feel all empowered and shit.....:-)

Deleted user June 23, 2014

Thanks! Keep up the good work.

MonK-E June 26, 2014

So for some reason my entries are coming out in this strange white box a friend of mines last entry did that as well. What is going on?

simple mind MonK-E ⋅ June 26, 2014

That's a Markdown thing. Do not indent your paragraphs with four or more spaces or you'll get that "code view".

Deleted user July 09, 2014

I wish I could upload straight from my tablet or Facebook, though.

World Pilot July 09, 2014

This is off-topic from the above, but is there a way to search the entire site using keyword/s? For example, I type the word "survey" into a search box, and it pulls up all of the public entries across the site with that word appearing in the title or body of the entry. Open Diary had something similar, where people would post an entry into a Diary Circle, where diarists could post a link on a given Diary Circle page. If I wanted to find a survey to post my own answers on, all I needed to do was go to the Survey Diary Circle page, and it would kick out a list of links of public survey entries. Thanks!

MC Freckles August 10, 2014

I have been gone awhile... I can't seem to get a picture to upload. I only have the hyperlink option.. and that won't even work for me. What am I doing wrong?

simple mind MC Freckles ⋅ August 11, 2014

The only upload Prosebox supports is for the profile icon, under Settings. For any photos in entries you have to hyperlink. Be sure you have the actual URL to your photo, not the URL to a Photobucket or Flickr viewing app (generally HTML you can get under "Share" or something like that). Also check out the Prosebox FAQ, it's got some good info for linking photos.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.