Tomorrow in A day in the life...

  • June 15, 2014, 5:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tomorrow I start yet another new job...-sigh- Yes, I'm grateful I got the job, and I'm praying it's a good fit and it works out...but man, I'm so tired of starting over. When I got the position at AAA I really thought that was it, that I would stay there until I retired (or hit the lottery). I prayed about that job before I got it because I was up against so many other women for it. I prayed to God that He only let me get the job if it was meant for me. Well, I got the job and it lasted for 9 months before the attorney I worked for (Elaine) spread my personal medical issues around the office, slandered me, and I literally had a nervous breakdown and ended up in a psychiatric hospital for 6 days. Now, I fully and completely trust in God so I know he put me at AAA for a reason...it just wasn't the reason I thought it would be. After all hell broke loose and I was out of the hospital, I was sitting on my porch praying one night and asking God to please help me understand why I had been put at that job when it obviously wasn't meant for me. Guess what? God answered! It was honestly like He whispered in my ear and said, "This isn't about you, Amy, it's about Elaine. My grace is sufficient for you."

As far as this new job, I just pray it's less stress and a good fit and somewhere I want to stay. The three ladies I spoke to briefly when I interviewed on Thursday were really nice so hopefully that's a good sign. Pray for me, please. I really want this to work out!

I wish this weekend hadn't been so crazy...it would've been nice to have some time to relax before starting a new job. I babysat Benny, Paulo AND baby Ben (BB) on Saturday! Carly dropped off BB at our place at 8 a.m., at 8:30 BB and I headed to Amanda's and I watched all three little ones until 2:30 p.m., when Amanda got home. After that BB and I headed back here and I had him until 8:30 p.m. Carly dropped BB off again this morning at 7:30 a.m. and picked him up at a little after 3 p.m. Tony's girls were also here all weekend, so it was quite the houseful. The girls got here on Friday a little after I got home (I also babysat for Benny and Paulo on Friday from 8 a.m. until 5:30 p.m.) and a little after they got here the four of us went out to dinner at Red Lobster. I wasn't feeling well and hadn't been since Thursday night so I took 2 bites of what I ordered and then had the rest boxed up to go. I was still feeling like crap on Saturday, so watching 3 little boys for over 5 hours was a real treat. I hardly ate anything at all yesterday either. Today I'm feeling somewhat better. So yeah, it was a crazy weekend what with all the babysitting I did, but I made $215. I'll take it. I know the new job pays every 2 weeks, so I wonder how long I'll have to wait for my first paycheck? Hopefully not a ridiculously long time.

This Friday (June 20) is the hearing on AAA's Motion for Summary Judgment (which is basically a motion to dismiss). C.F. and Victoria have both been working on our (my) response and they're both going to court to argue it on Friday. Fingers crossed and prayers sent for a good turnout! If the judge doesn't grant the motion (which will be a good thing for us!) then AAA will most likely switch gears and start thinking settlement, which is what I want. I don't want this to drag out, I just want it over with as soon as possible. And if the judge does grant it, so be it. At least it'll be over, and I know for a fact Elaine has already had to pay for what she did. While I was out on short-term disability Elaine's managing attorney, D.S., retired. His position was filled by my supervising attorney, J.B., which left J.B.'s position open. It was between Elaine and another attorney named Nancy. Elaine has been there longer and she wanted it, but Nancy got it instead....and I'm willing to bet that what Elaine did to me, and the fact that now the company is being sued because of it, is what kept her from getting it. So yeah, if this all ends in me getting nothing monetary-wise, that's fine with me...it really is. I'm not living like I'm expecting a huge settlement. If I get something, cool....if I don't, that's fine too. It's in God's hands. I don't want anybody else who works for Elaine in the future to ever have to go through what I did, and that's what this whole lawsuit is all about.

That pasta I ordered on Friday (crab linguini alfredo) that I couldn't eat then is sitting in my refrigerator calling my name right now....I don't think I can ignore it any longer :-)

Hope everyone had a great weekend, and I especially hope all your dads out there had a fabulous Father's Day!!!

Much love....xoxo


here is no why June 15, 2014

I hope all the legal matters are settled in a timely manner and that your first day at work goes swimmingly. Good luck! By the way, I think it's kind of cool you're starting a new job one week after I started a new job. It's nice to know a fellow Proseboxian is going through a similar journey.

submissive_angel here is no why ⋅ June 15, 2014

Yeah, we'll be the "just started a new job" brigade! I hope your new job is going well, my friend. Hopefully after tomorrow I'll have a "feeling" as to whether this job is a good fit or not. I am so hoping and praying it is. I care more about this than the damn lawsuit. Thanks for the good thoughts :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.