Life in the Fast Lane in New Immigrant

  • June 14, 2014, 12:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hello! Everything is fine! Tom returned from his marvelous ("all we did was laugh") trip with his buddies. Since then we've been here, there and everywhere in Iowa and Illinois and it doesn't look like it's going to slow down. I regret my absence here has caused some of you concern. I understand that feeling and I should have written. I'm sorry. I find after four and a half months basically alone at the river, I am relishing every moment with Tom. It's been a welcome reunion for both of us. Last night I began noting some of you and will continue to do more noting than writing.

Surprises: In one day we received three startling letters. From the city of Cedar Falls came a notice that someone thinks we're a rental property and we need to register if we are. Along with that was a a stern letter that we were growing noxious weeds on our property. We believe someone thought the daisies in our lawn were weeds (they hadn't bloomed yet). While Tom was on vacation I had mowed but hurt my ankle in the process so couldn't finish the back yard. As soon as I finish writing here I'll be going outside to trim. Our yard has never looked better, the daisies are gorgeous and we remain proponents of plant diversity in our yard, which is not the traditional all grass lawn most Americans prefer, but it is tidy now.

The third letter was the most alarming and came from Tom's hometown of Centerville, IA. In 1915 his great-grandfather bought three vacant lots which his sister couldn't part with. They've been paying taxes on those for decades and now have actually paid in more than the three lots are worth! A certified letter notified Tom and his sister that the city would mow one lot for $75 and also fine them $500! Yes, we jumped in the pick-up and headed down to mow (three hours south)! For all these years the adjacent homeowner had used the lot and mowed it. We learned she is gone now and so the grass wasn't tended, in fact it was so tall we had to run the mower at a 45' angle to get through it. A neighbor arrived with a riding mower and helped Tom. Turns out this may be the very neighbor that had the city send the letter because he made it clear he owned most all the lots in this block and was interested in buying this one. Tom is now busy getting that taken care of. As part of that process we spent a remarkable afternoon with Tom's 93 year old Aunt Margaret. She's quick-witted, up on the news and, we learned, writes one of her grandchildren each day of the month, thereby interacting with all thirty each month! She thought it "was a kick" that Tom and Penny had paid in more on taxes than the lots are worth!

Violet's High School Graduation: After the mess of Tom's departure, his return flights went off without a hitch. We headed from the airport directly to Illinois for Violet's graduation. She was beaming and "pumped," as kids used to say, to get to the University of Colorado in Boulder. In fact, she and her family are in Colorado now with her two aunts who live there. She registered to be a Colorado resident which will lower her tuition for her second year and on. She's planning to major in environmental engineering.

Bariatric Surgery: Please, if any of you have experienced this or know of others who have, I'd appreciate hearing of your/their experience. Violet's Mother will have Roux en Y, an irreversible type of bariatric procedure, soon. Having read about it, we are concerned about the side-effects. Not that we are trying to discourage Heather, her mind is made up. I hope her positive attitude will make the difference.

Mary's husband, Leo: Sadly, Mary's husband passed away. She was the first to notice he was declining. It was a gradual process and all his and Mary's family were able to visit him before the end. Mary is grieving but also thinks "he's in a better place." She is understandably plagued with the sensation that "I need to go see Leo." Mary is back in her assisted living apartment, a cutback in her medications has stopped the pancreatitis and she surprises us with her resilience.

My Health: I have been having much more joint pain throughout my body. On Tuesday I will see the oncologist (routine) and ask again whether he thinks it's the Anastrazole, the anti-estrogen drug I take. Some of the joints, like my knees, have been bad a long time. Something has to "give" though because the pain is limiting my exercise. I have not been on the treadmill in several weeks. I feel increasingly "crippled."

Although I have been silent you have been in my thoughts.

Carpe Diem, Friends.


jamez June 14, 2014

RYNote’s. It was a nice surprise to find eleven notes from you, and doubly nice to have you in good health, it’s a year since Ruby passed away; I still miss her notes.

I think I would plaster your President’s all over, it’s always good to see the other side turning peuse; easy to say from the UK – here the other side don’t carry firearms.

The Red Arrows display was a part of Portsmouth’s D Day 70 remembrance event, my Sister organized a fly pass for a School event about fifteen years ago, from memory I think they went round two or three time and a short show! Any one can call them by phone, small events are added as they fly between the larger display. A friend a work did the same thing for his Mums funeral, she lived on Anglesey – where the Red Arrows practice before the air-show season starts! Being a silversmith he offered to make them a silver cup for just the cost of the silver, and they took him up, when the cup was first presented he was invited, they gave him lunch followed by an aerial tour of Anglesey ….

Mum is like that most of the time, she always knows me – I think, when I visit I think the visit sutures up her memories, but I still visit, my Sister tells me I’m often there when I’m in Cornwall, a visitor a little like her Mum and Dad. She was quite sharp when I was there, asking how people were – people who have passed away, I would say they were ‘fine’ Then she would ask what I meant by ‘fine’ at some point I have to say they had died; something I try to avoid!

The BBC had D Day programmes through the week working up to Friday 6th June, there were so many stories from the old chaps that left me watch with tears in my eyes. I would like to visit Normandy one day, I’m not sure how I will feel stood in front of rows and rows of white headstones …..

The woman telling her two year old that she hadn’t given her a Mothers Day gift was overheard in passing, I doubt my chiming in would help in any way; I wonder how their Fathers day will be in a few hours ….!!!

Lola sleeps with a change of location, Ziggy sleeps here and there, if I’m about an eye might follow me!

And that’s about time I went to the bed I make, I keep my Kindle next to my bed; mostly it is there to put my wristwatch on – the gap between putting my head on the pillow and sleep are not many words …. ZZZzzzzzzz

[I’ll read and respond tomorrow ZZzzzzzzz ]

Ragdolls June 14, 2014

thesunnyabyss June 14, 2014

thank you for the update, I figured with Leo's death you were rather busy at home,

my joints have been horrible all winter, I've just chalked it up to the damp, cold winter we had, but now I'm finding on more humid days they are bothering me more,

hope everythng else is well,

big hugs and much love!!

jamez June 15, 2014

Some letters you can do with out, and a complaint about weeds, wild plants please! Ownership is here has more clout here, people can complaint but that’s about it, mostly that is fine but now and then there are problems, like people letting trees grow forty feet high and more! There are things you can do through the courts, always an expensive rout; so far we have been lucky!

I hope your oncologist can alter the balance of your medication, my joints grumble now and then, but not to a degree I would describe as ‘crippling’ Sweetheart is into herbal cures, I’m taking Devils Claw, Glucosamine, vitamin D3 and one called ‘Menergy’ I’m hopping that last one dose what it says on the bottle …. I’ve been taking Cod liver oil for many years as Dad did, he was in good condition until eight five.

That very cold winter you had wouldn’t have been very good for your joints, our wet winter I think has left us with a degree of rust; I might state taking some three in one oil!

Keep well a best you can …

Beret June 16, 2014

Nice seeing you here again. I thought of you as I drove through CF recently. Glad your absence is because of business! Hope you get that aching under control. Keep moving!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.