I escaped in It's happened, what now.

  • May 7, 2022, 7:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I escaped you but I didn’t, I left but I’m still there
Somehow you still affect me, despite the distance that we share.

I wake up to a bright new day, With lots of things to do
But somehow by the end of it, whats on my mind is you.

You broke something inside of me, I’m all rusted and ignored.
Because the amount of times I think of you would have you surely floored.

I wonder if you were attacked, in jail inside your cell
The same way you put your kids and I through your personal choice of hell.

I wonder once again if my behaviour makes you mad
If you perceive my freedom, as something rather bad.

I wonder if I’ll ever stop wondering about you
I wonder if I’ll ever stop caring, ‘bout the things you do.

I don’t love you anymore, not sure I ever did
I was so young when we first met, I was practically a kid.

I’m not sure I really knew about love or what it truly was.
And I’m not sure I will ever know or if anyone really does.

The children left behind are hurt, they try to understand
You’ve left your own mark in their life that resembles a painful brand.

They mourn the man they thought you were, the man they thought they knew
They cry for him, and yearn for him, the fake man that they thought was you.

They try to reconcile, the father that they knew,
The one who bought them ice cream and replied with I love you

With the scary person that appeared and made us need a plan
The father that they looked up to is also the boogie man.

So I escaped, but I didn’t, I left but I’m still there
I think you’ll always affect me, despite the distance that we share.

But now I get to pick and choose, the times I deal with you
I have the power, I have the freedom
Unlike the jailbird you.


Last updated May 28, 2022


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.