Not one, but two! in A day in the life...

  • June 5, 2014, 5:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Attorneys, that is...who are working on my case against AAA. The attorney who first took my case is C.F. He's a solo practitioner and has other cases as well as mine. I have a very good friend named Victoria who passed the bar not too long ago. She and I worked at a law firm together (not the AAA firm) in the past when she was still a law student and she and I hit it off right away when I started at the firm and have been good friends since....even when we were no longer working together at the firm. We always kept in touch.

Anyway, I talked to Victoria on Tuesday and told her that AAA had responded to the Complaint and, expectedly, trashed me in their response...saying my work product was a serious concern for Elaine, I had attendance issues, etc., etc. Funny how I was never told about any of these work product or attendance issues while I was there. Victoria asked me to forward her a copy of my complaint and AAA's response so I did when I got home after babysitting that day. Today I talked to C.F. and told him about Victoria and he suggested we bring her on board as co-counsel. I was like, hell yes! So I told Victoria and she called C.F. and on Monday Vic is going to file an appearance on my behalf and will be co-counsel to C.F. AWESOME!!! C.F. is a good attorney but as a solo practitioner I know he can't put the time and effort into my case that it really needs right now regarding our response to AAA's response. Victoria, though, has the time and that girl is incredibly passionate about my case and she will do one hell of a job! She and C.F. are meeting on Monday to outline our response, I will be gathering documentation from various doctors, and then sometime next week after Vic and C.F. meet and I've gathered all the documentation I can, Vic and I will meet up and work on the response together. I think when AAA sees that I have TWO attorneys working on my behalf they're going to be like....whoa! I know between Victoria and I we are going to prepare a response AAA won't be expecting, and then Victoria is going to slam them with discovery requests. Insurance companies HATE that!

Anyway, life is good. I'm still babysitting Benny and Paulo and things are slowly changing. I've realized that the less I let Benny get to me, the quicker he calms down and starts behaving. This week so far has been good. We've still had a few moments, but nowhere near as bad as the first few weeks. I'm really starting to love those two little monsters :-) Benny always wants to hug me and sit with me and Paulo is just always smiling. The past two days, after breakfast, I've taken them to the park and then played with them outside in their own backyard, then made them a good lunch, gave them a snack, and then naptime! Playing with them outside in the warm, sunny weather and fresh air definitely works to my advantage...lol.

Tomorrow after I get done babysitting I'm headed to the office building to clean it. I'm glad no one will be there because I can put my headset on, turn on my tunes, and clean away while getting my groove on. Then Monday I'll go back to the house (where the kitchen will probably be a mess AGAIN) and do some more cleaning there. The house will be a once a week thing and the office building an every other week thing.

Oh yeah, get this.....Ben's mom, Carly....she's pregnant again. She asked me to watch Ben yesterday at 5:00 p.m. because she had a doctor's appointment. She picked Ben up about 2 hours later and I asked her if everything was okay. I asked because Tony had mentioned about a week earlier that Carly was looking rounder in the belly area....as in pregnant rounder. So I asked and she said "Yeah, I'm just 8 weeks pregnant." I almost said honey, have you not figured out how babies are made yet? This will be her third child, and all three have different dads. A mutual friend of ours, Rachel, said Carly has the tendency to get too serious, too fast with guys and she ends up pregnant within the first few months of dating them. Oy. Carly's oldest son, Zander, his dad is a good guy and pays child support and keeps Zander every weekend. Ben's dad is a complete and utter douchebag who physically abused Carly, rarely pays child support, and refuses to watch Ben on the weekends while Carly is working (hence the reason he's my "Sunday baby"). I hope and pray this new guy (babydaddy No. 3) is a decent guy. Time will tell, I guess.

I am having a crazy craving for chicken wings right now. And no, I'm definitely not pregnant. Kinda hard to be when you have no uterus or ovaries...lol. They just sound sooooo good right now! Gonna have to settle for a club sandwich, though. Hubby's going to get food from the little mom 'n pop restaurant a mile away and I love their club sandwiches (and damnit, they don't have chicken wings!).

A bit of good news (well, good news for ME anyway)....the little yappy dog that pissed and crapped all over the house where I babysit ran away. Okay, that's mean of me to say that, but honestly, I do not miss that dog one bit. Amanda was actually in the process of finding another home for him but he took off before she could. I guess he heard her talking about it, thought screw you, and packed his knapsack and took off for parts unknown. Actually, I'm thinking that because he's a puggle, and a damn cute one at that, that someone found him and kept him. Good. The house already stinks less and I don't have to listen to that incessant fucking high-pitched yipping anymore. The only dog they have now is the German Shepherd mix (Leia), and she's content to stay in her crate and she very rarely barks. I don't even mind letting her out when I'm outside with the boys because she stays in the yard, doesn't jump all over me or the boys, and she gets back in the crate when you tell her to. Xavier (Amanda's husband) told me he hopes someone found Stevie (the puggle) and kept him or took him to the humane society, but that he's not sorry the dog is gone. He's like, "That damn dog is the reason my carpeting looks and smells the way it does so I told Amanda to get rid of him, but he ran away before we could. Good. I couldn't deal with that constant barking of his either." Like I said a few entries ago....Xavier never wanted either dog; Amanda's the one who brought them home. Xavier doesn't mind Leia because, like I said, she's a much calmer dog and rarely barks, but Stevie acted like he was on meth all the time!

Question. If you're going to let your small children drink and eat in the living room, WHY in God's name would you have furniture that's fabric, and obviously not scotchguarded? I make Benny and Paulo sit at the dining room table for every little thing they stick in their mouths, but apparently their mommy lets them eat popsicles and have drinks wherever they want. Ugh. Well, at least the boys don't give me a hard time about eating at the table. They're actually very, very good about it. It's too bad mommy doesn't do the same. If she did then her furniture wouldn't look so damn nasty.

Okay, hubby's back with dinner. Hope you all had a fab Thursday!!

Much love....xoxo


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.