Very, very busy in A day in the life...

  • May 18, 2014, 1:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

But surprisingly, very content. I'm literally working 7 days a week either babysitting or cleaning houses and offices. I'm making a heck of a lot less than when I worked at AAA....but I'm good. I'm really, really good! :-) It's so nice to work for people who tell you all the time how much they appreciate you and all you do for them, who don't take you for granted. When Amanda walked into her house on...I think it was Thursday?...and she saw how clean the house was and that I'd already fed the boys dinner and bathed them, she almost started crying. Every day, and I mean EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. she tells me how grateful she is and her husband tells me how awesome I am...lol.

I'm learning a lot; like, no amount of money in the world will bring you peace of mind (or your sanity!), and I'm ready and really want to start living a more minimalist lifestyle. The ONLY thing I have to keep up with is pedicures because of my diabetes. I can't cut my own toenails because I end up cutting them too short and then they get ingrown. Other than that, now I go a lot longer between haircuts, I color my hair from a box now, and I pluck my own eyebrows (and goatee hairs) rather than getting waxed. I'm also selling stuff I don't wear or use anymore. Unfortunately, hubby isn't of the same mind. He likes his toys, and lately he's been spending a lot of money on some kind of fat burning vitamins. But I guess since he's bringing in more money than me now I can't say anything. I'll just cut back wherever I can and work as many babysitting/cleaning jobs as I can fit in.

Ben is here today (as he is every Sunday). We went out to breakfast, where Ben scarfed down half of a huge pancake and the crust of my toast, then we swung by the church so I could return a t-shirt I bought a few weeks ago that didn't fit me as loose around the middle as I would've liked. I was really bummed...I loved that t-shirt. But they said the next time they put an order in for that particular t-shirt they'll order larger sizes. The t-shirt is women's style, which means it's more fitted in the middle. I like that style because I like the more open neck and I like that they're a little more fitted because it's more feminine looking and flattering, but not when it's too tight across the belly (if, like me, you have a belly!). The t-shirt did fit, but I would've had to wear my Spanx any time I wore the t-shirt, and who wants to do that?? LOL!

Last night at church I spoke to the man who owns his own business and wants me to clean his offices (the one whose kitchen it took me over 6 hours to clean). He and his wife want me to come back to the house tomorrow morning to work on more of the house and there are a few things in the kitchen I want to finish up (mainly wiping down the front of all the cabinets), and when I'm done at the house I'm going to his office building and will do some work there.

So I know you all know that hubby and I have been eating better and exercising for quite a while now, right? Well, hubby is starting to get on my freakin' nerves with it. All he talks about is how healthy he's eating, including a rundown of what he had for breakfast and lunch (or he'll bitch and moan if there's a day where, God forbid, he eats something unhealthy), and how hard he works out at the gym. He flexes his arm muscles and tells me to feel them, talks about how all of his clothes are too big now, constantly asks me if he looks thinner, etc., etc. Today I told him that he's acting like a woman with major vanity issues. It wouldn't irritate me so much if he only did it every now and then, but it's every damn day! Seriously, knock it off already...it's getting old.

Oh, Benny and I went another round on Friday...lol. He was playing with a miniature basketball...bouncing it on the floor and off the walls, nothing that would hurt anything. But then he started throwing it at the clock on the kitchen wall, trying to knock the clock down. I told him to knock it off and that if he did it again the ball was going to be taken away. He looked me right in the eye and did it again. I picked up the ball, put it on top of the fridge, said "I told you what would happen if you did it again, so no more ball for you today." Then I walked out of the kitchen and left him in there screaming for me to give him his ball back. I was very calm about it. There is going to come a day when he finally realizes that when I say I'm going to do something, he can take it to the bank. Amy - 3, Benny - 0.

My dad chewed me out on Friday, then flipped out on me via text messaging yesterday. A different reason each time. I love my dad, I really do, but he can be such an asshole. He's not feeling good so he's crabby...I get that. But if you're not feeling well and feeling cranky, how about just not talking to people until you're feeling better? That's what I do, that's what my sister does, that's what most people do! But my dad? Nooooooo!! He uses times like that to pick fights and berate you and make you feel like total shit for things that aren't that big of a deal. So he probably won't be talking to me for a while. He's like that as well; he gets mad at me and pretends I don't exist, and then when he thinks enough time has passed for me to feel sufficiently chastised, he'll grace me with his presence again. Whatever. I'm so over worrying about whether or not he's ever going to talk to me again. Some things never change, and my dad being an emotional manipulator is one of them.

I can't wait to go to California. I need this break...I really do. Of course the forecast is only showing temperatures in the mid to high 70's while I'm out there, but hell, that's a lot warmer than it is here. I can still wear shorts and capris and t-shirts. I don't plan on dressing up, not even once, while I'm there. I'll bring my makeup, but I'll only put some on if we go out to dinner or something. This trip is going to be as stress-free as I can make it.

Hubby and I have to talk about money issues when I'm done writing. For some reason he seems to think that he needs more money than I do while I'm in California. I'll be gone for 7 days and in that time he'll go to work, then the gym, then home, and on the weekend he'll sit at home and watch TV. How much money does he need to do that? I'm not saying I need a ton of money when I go to California, but I'm also going to be driving to and from Chicago.

Yeah, I need to go...writing about dad issues and hubby/money issues is putting me in a foul mood. Hope everyone had a lovely weekend!

Much love....xoxo.


Luna-Marie May 18, 2014

My dad used to be the exact same way! Ugh... such a downer/drainer, but I finally worked up the courage to tell him how he made me feel.

Mine and my fiance's budget changed almost two years ago and we still have to talk about money a lot. However, the change was a blessing in disguise and we're both more on the same page now. I think it's easier for women to give up the extras. I was able to and it took time for T to slowly part with his toys and wants that didn't fit the budget every week.

Have fun in Cali!

submissive_angel Luna-Marie ⋅ May 18, 2014

It took me standing up to my dad when I was in my 30s for him to finally start treating me with respect. He's much better than he was when I was growing up, but every now and then the "old dad" pops back up. When he gets like that I let him throw his little temper tantrums and enjoy the silence (while he's not speaking to me) and definitely don't lose any sleep over it. If he wants to act like a child that's his issue, not mine. It used to upset me badly when he would give me the silent treatment....now I don't give a crap.

Luna-Marie submissive_angel ⋅ May 19, 2014

The old dad pops in every once in awhile for my dad too. Mostly when he's stressed, but it doesn't matter no one deserves his wrath. I'm no longer upset or phased by it either.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.