It wasn't so bad in A day in the life...

  • May 15, 2014, 3:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The babysitting job. I got there at nine and the two dogs were already running around the house. Of course they started barking and yapping and jumping on me when I came in. Amanda (the mom) had to clean up dog crap after she let me in, then she ran to the corner store for milk and brought it back before she left for work. She put the big dog in her crate before she left because the dog wouldn't stop jumping on me, and the little one she put in their bedroom. I fed the boys breakfast and then cleaned up the mess. At that time I could hear the little dog whining to be let out of the bedroom (their bedroom is through a door and up a flight of stairs, so it's not like the door opens right into their bedroom) and I was afraid she would wake up the husband (Xavier) so I opened the door and let her out and then put her in her crate as well, then closed the door to the room where the crates are. I didn't hear a peep out of them the rest of the time I was there.

It's kinda funny....this house is much cleaner than the one I was at on Tuesday (where I only got the kitchen cleaned because it was such a disaster), but it stinks because of the dogs. The house with the nasty kitchen, believe it or not, didn't smell. I think it's because they don't have pets....thank God! So tonight when Tony and I went to the grocery store I bought some Febreze that's super potent for pet smells and I am going to Febreze the hell out of their couch and chair tomorrow...AND the carpeting too! I don't want my clothes to start stinking.

Oh, I met her husband when he came downstairs before I left. I don't believe I have anything to worry about with him....not at all. He was very, very nice and you can tell he is crazy in love with his boys. I didn't get a funky feeling when I met him at all. I think the reason I originally felt weird about him being in the house while I was there was because I hadn't met him, but now I have and he was a perfectly nice man. He's got quite a bit of ink on him and some piercings, but I'm totally cool with that stuff. And one other thing....he's a smallish guy, so if it came down to it I think I could take him...lol.

The cleaning family definitely wants me to come back and do some more cleaning, so that's good. I know for a fact the other rooms were nowhere near as bad as the kitchen, which is great! And after church on Saturday we're going to meet and talk about when he'd like me to clean his office.

I think I'll do some cleaning for Amanda tomorrow while the boys are napping. I know I don't have to and I won't be getting paid to, but keeping busy is good for me, and for some reason cleaning relaxes me. See? I am crazy! ;-)

Benny, the oldest boy (he's 3), got mad at me today. He was coloring at the dining room table and he started throwing markers on the floor....just for the hell of it. I told him to pick them up and he said, "You pick them up." I walked over to the table, closed the box with the rest of the markers and crayons in it, picked it up along with his coloring paper and put it all away. Then I told him he doesn't get it back until he picks up the markers he threw. Guess what? He got his little butt off that chair and picked those markers up. I will never yell at or lay my hands on anyone's child(ren), but when I'm there I'm the boss, and they are going to mind me. After he picked them up and handed them to me he muttered, "You can't come back here anymore." That cracked me up...lol. I honestly think he was just testing me to see how much I would let him get away with, because a little later when we were watching Frozen he sat in my lap the whole time and hugged on me and told me he loved me twice. He's a good boy....he's just a typical 3 year old.

The youngest one, Paulo (18 months old), he's a little lover. He always wants to be held and sit on my lap and he hardly ever fusses. And when I put him down for his nap I never heard one peep out of him. He's so funny when he wakes up, though. Instead of crying or screaming, he just stands in his crib and says "Please!" until someone goes and gets him.

Honestly, if it weren't for those friggin' dogs this would be the perfect babysitting job. Well, that and being paid a little more. But the dogs are there and I was given permission to leave them in their crate if they were being too much of a pain in the butt, so I will have no problem doing that.

I got a weird phone call yesterday. It was from a company called Citizen's Disability and they were wanting information (they didn't ask for my SSN or any personal information) to see if I would qualify for SSDI; questions like am I still in treatment, how often do I see my doctor, how long have I been treating...stuff like that. They told me someone had made the inquiry so they were contacting me to get more information. My question is....who made the inquiry? I know it wasn't me or my husband, so who the heck was it?? Is it possible that AAA did it? I have no clue.

One week from today I will be heading to Chicago, and one week from tomorrow I will be on my way to California....woo hoo!!! I'm so excited to see Josh and Mia, and to just get away for a little while. I want to go sit on my butt at the beach and just gaze at the ocean and soak up some sun and think about nothing. Of course I'll have to bathe in sunscreen first because I'm very pale and I fry in the sun. The only bad thing is that I seem to have developed a bit of travel anxiety. Driving to Chicago won't be so bad because I can talk to people while I'm driving (yes, I have a hands-free headset), but I may have to take a Xanax before getting on the plane. We'll see how I'm feeling before I board, but I will definitely have the bottle in my purse just in case. I'll also have my phone and headset with me on the plane so I can listen to my music as well. That usually always calms me down if I'm feeling anxious or panicky.

CRAP! I just remembered I'm out of test strips for my glucometer. That means no blood sugar testing before bed or in the morning. It's really not that huge of a deal because my blood sugar readings are pretty steady, but I always check in the morning and before bed. Since I can't check my fasting tomorrow morning I'll just have to be really careful about what I eat for breakfast and lunch. I'll pick up some more strips on the way home tomorrow.

Okay, I'm even boring myself now so I'll say goodnight. Hope everyone had a happy hump day! Much love....xoxo.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.