Baby Samuel is here! in A day in the life...

  • May 8, 2014, 12:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My cousin Andrew and his wife Cheryl had their baby boy today...Samuel Andrew. He's in the NICU right now because there were oxygen concerns when he was born, but Cheryl finally got to go to the NICU a few hours ago and hold him and the doctor told her that he was doing really well and would most likely be out of the NICU by tomorrow. Cheryl and Samuel will be in the hospital until Saturday, though, because she had a C-section, just like she did with Samuel's big sister Sydney. Cheryl posted a picture of Sydney (who is 3) hanging out in the hospital in little pink scrubs with "Big Sister" stitched on the top. She was hanging out and waiting for baby Sam's arrival. Unfortunately, because Sam had to go to the NICU, Sydney hasn't got to see him yet. Andrew said Sydney is SO excited to meet Sam. I'm so happy for all of them!

Today I started the stronger dose of Celexa and I can already tell a difference. I feel a lot better than I have the past couple of weeks. I didn't get to go to the gym today because baby Ben has been here since 4:30, but I'll go tomorrow. I put in the movie Frozen when Ben got here and he was sitting there just staring at the TV when the character of Elsa started singing "Let It Go." I started singing along with Elsa and Ben turns and looks at me with this look on his face like, dude, you're ruining this for me! I always said I love to sing...I never said I COULD sing...lol. I've learned that Ben really likes music. I started playing the music on my phone through my headset and when I held one of the ear buds up to Ben's ear he just sat there like a statue while listening.

I talk about Ben a lot, don't I? I hope that doesn't seem creepy to anyone since he's not my child, because I'm not creepy like that. I know Ben's not mine, I adore his mom Carly and I'm honored she trusts me and hubby with her child, and she loves the fact that she knows that we take excellent care of him. I guess the reason we enjoy Ben so much is because first, he's such a good baby, and second, we hardly ever get to see our granddaughters. I also love babies...that's my favorite room to work in at church. I worked one night in the 4th and 5th grade room and was ready to pull my hair out by the time it was over...lol. Those kids were wild!

On Monday hubby and I ordered food to go from a really good Mexican restaurant near us because it was Cinco de Mayo. While we were waiting for the food we sat at the bar and I had a frozen margarita and hubby had a Coke. A lady sat next to me and said she was also waiting for her to go order and she ordered a cosmopolitan (I've never had one of those before). Anyway, we got to talking and I noticed she had scrubs on so I asked her if she was a nurse or worked in a hospital or doctor's office. She told me she works in a dentist's office and I told her how much I wanted to go back to the medical field, that it was my first love, and that I'm almost done with my short-term disability (I didn't tell her why I was on it) and that I'd really like to find something in the medical field again because I was tired of the legal field and all the drama and b.s. that goes along with it. She asked me if I had ever worked the front desk at a medical/dental office and I told her I had. She asked if I was looking for part-time or full-time work and when I told her part-time she handed me the business card for her office manager (after she wrote her name on the back of it) and told me to call him because he was looking for part-time front desk help. How cool is that?? I'm going to call him tomorrow. The only thing that could potentially be a problem is that I'm going to be gone for about 8 days this month when I go to visit my son in San Diego, so if he's looking for someone to start right away then I won't be able to. I'm not going to worry about it, though. If it's God's will, then it will be.

I had been slacking somewhat in my Bible readings and my prayers had been pretty short in the past week or so. Last night I read my Bible for almost an hour, then I got on my knees and had a long chat with God. I felt really good afterwards. I like to do my readings and my God-chat at night after hubby goes to bed so it can be just me and God and I don't get interrupted or distracted.

I'm not feeling as angry at hubby as I was. This is how things are going to go: after AAA "lets me go" I'm going to collect unemployment until I find a good part-time job, and I'll still babysit Ben on the weekends. I am going to make sure I make enough for my car payment, prescriptions, cell phone, and computer payment. If hubby is still worried about money, then I suggest he do something about getting the child support lowered. I'm going to be very frugal and save all of my babysitting money and am not going to put it in the bank. That will be MY money, for when I want to do something or buy something or get my hair done. That way hubby can't bitch about me spending money that's for bills. Let me be nice, though, because hubby said if I can wait until he gets paid next Thursday then he'll buy me a brand new pair of running shoes as a late Mother's Day gift....yay!!

I have a therapist appointment this coming Wednesday and I'm going to have hubby come with me. He needs to hear from a professional exactly what bipolar is and how it affects the person who has it and also the affect it can have on a marriage. He also needs to understand that when he says cruel things and starts getting all stressed out about money or whatever, that those are two of the worst things he can do because then I start having anxiety attacks and start sinking into a depression.

I was hoping to get my hair professionally colored and highlighted before I went to San Diego, but since I'm trying to save every cent I have for the trip I won't be able to. So I'll get a box and do it myself this time...no biggie. The two things I don't like about doing it from the box are that the color starts fading faster, and I can't get the chunky blonde highlights :-( When I was working full time I got spoiled with being able to get my hair professionally colored and highlighted every couple of months. Alas, those days are gone....at least for a little while. Even though the box coloring doesn't last as long, it's a helluva lot cheaper and, more importantly, it colors the grays!

I'm so glad hubby gets paid before I leave for Chicago on the 21st (I'm flying to California from Chicago on the 22nd because it's cheaper) because my poor little car is begging for an oil change and it HAS to be done before I make that drive to Chicago.

OMG OMG OMG!!!! I just finished watching Criminal Minds (part 1 of 2....I think part 2 next week will be the season finale) and my two favorites got shot at the end of this episode! NOOOOOOOO!!!! I'm not going to say who my faves are because I don't want to spoil it for anyone who hasn't watched it yet, but I am going to cry and be uber-pissed if either of them dies!

I found two older cats (the female is 8, the male is 9) at the shelter who are bonded, and I want them both. I probably can't get them before I go to San Diego because I don't know if hubby will want to take care of them while I'm gone, so if they're still available when I get home then I will get them....maybe. I'm still not sure if I'll be able to handle cats as far as my allergies go, so if I want them, and can talk hubby into it, I'll go meet them and play with them and see how my eyes and nose handle it.

The tummy issues are still with me. This time it's lasting longer than it ever has in the past. I'll wake up in the morning feeling fine, but as the day goes on the nasty belches will start again and the nausea comes back. I hope I can get in to see someone before I go to San Diego because I really don't want to be feeling like crap the whole time I'm with my son and daughter-in-law. There HAS to be a doctor out there who will take me seriously and actually want to find out what's making me so sick instead of just giving me a pill and dismissing me....because so far that hasn't worked!

Okay, I'm feeling yukky so I'm going to lay down and read. Hope everyone had a great day! Much love...xoxo


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.