American Medical Society in Meeting Mr. Jesus Christ

  • May 7, 2014, 12:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There are days I have a love relationship with my doctor. She is compassionate and non-invasive, more than any doctor I've ever had. Then there is Dr. Test, her polar opposite. He wants, quickly, all tests remotely in the range of my illness. He's a nice guy, really, but I dread seeing him. I think to myself, "today is the day I get my results!" only to be given more orders for lab work and invasive, painful tests. The cartoons below are my way of staying light minded about the unpleasantness my body is presently experiencing.

Today I had my liver biopsy. Number 15, I'm an old pro at this. Three have had complications. Today went smoothly, but because each doctor has their own style of doing the test one never knows what will happen or what IS happening. My one biopsy became three, the "sedation" was a joke, the pain level higher than ever before. I was told the pain should have been less because where they put the needle (4.5" long 16 gauge). Not. I assure you not. I asked for an extra dose of he sedative (which knocked me OUT for a colonoscopy) and with that I was still wide awake. I kinda sneered at the nurse later when I was allowed to have a 7.5 mg Vicodin. I was silent, but on the inside I was a crabby camper this morning.

Unannounced was additional blood work and of course an IV, this followed yesterday's run of blood work. I'm bruised unusually. My belly I expected a small bruise, that's normal. Instead it is about 4 inches kind of around and still feels like a bleed. So I have laid quietly in bed all evening with ice and a 2 Lb. weight which does help relieve some discomfort.

My dear girlfriend went for similar tests today where, by the end of the day she too felt like a punching bag. This entry is more of my cheering her up in response to her comments to me. Today, just today, all the doctors are butchers and we are never going back. Of course tomorrow we we put our smiles on, deal with the day however it is dished to us and when the results come in do everything we must to improve our health. Right now, I'm laughing at myself. I have a hospital I.D. band on, both arms are taped with cotton from IV's or blood draw, my belly has a gauze and tape and I generally feel like I've been stabbed in the back and gut.

Guess what. I got through today just fine! HA! Next up (if you can't tell from the last cartoon, is "we promise this is the L.A.S.T. test"). Yeah, right. Thank you all for the prayers. My God is a mighty awesome God, putting up with my silly, whinny self.
OUT!

 photo nervecond.jpg

web stats  photo 12192226-syringe-characters.jpg
 photo thequestion.jpg


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.