Book and Movie- City of Bones in Reviews

  • Sept. 22, 2013, 9:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The movie first, since that is what I experienced first- A friend from work convinced me that I would like this movie. And she REALLY wanted to see it (again) so she got a couple of us together to join her.

This movie has Vampires and Werewolves and Demons and witches/warlocks (and I don't remember off hand if it also has faeries as characters, but they do exist in this world.). The Main Character is Clary, a teenager. Basically, she finds out that her mom is a shadow hunter (demon hunter) and that Clary herself is actually pretty good at it. She encounters a few other teenagers who are also shadow hunters and they all must try to find this mysterious Mortal Cup, which the bad guy (Valentine, that is his first name) has managed to procure.

Overall, it is a pretty good movie. I had not read the book, so I wasn't comparing it the whole time (as I inevitably do). I didn't feel like I had to read the book to understand the movie.

Now, the book. I like it better. But I almost always do. There is just more "time" to explain more details. I guess I don't need to explain the plot, lol.

After reading the book, I want to see the movie again. Because as I remember it, there is actually some big differences, but I don't think that it really matters in the grand scheme of things. I think they can still continue with future movies and not cause issues. But I hope that any differences are carried throughout the movies, and staying "true" to the movies, rather than correcting themselves in the next movie (trying to think of an example that doesn't give anything away... and I am failing).


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.