Angus in New Immigrant

  • April 18, 2014, 7:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Willow saw it before I did, watching it calmly from the bedroom window, where it lay in the dried grass below it. When I opened the window it looked up and meowed. Still Willow didn't huff and puff.

Got up. Fed my cats and headed out with two servings - dry and moist - for this scrawny Angus black cat wearing a turquoise flea collar. Very friendly cat, no fear coming right up to eat and TALK, what a talker! "I am starving. Feed me. Feed me. I may fall over any moment. Food!"

Now it is sleeping in the shade on our front landing. This is after having another drink on the deck and meeting ("How many are in there???) and talking to all the cats. Una puffed huge. Angus continued talking. "I'm out here all alone! Can I come in? I am nice. I won't bite. I am lonely!"

And all seems right with my world. The Crazy Cat Lady gets to meet another feline. Nothing I like more.

I told my Sister I would air mail it to her. Her husband is still refusing to get a new pet. To which I said, "Enough with the grieving already! If Tom died I'd give it a week and rescue a Great Big Dog." (Of course that was a JOKE.) But there is something to be said about focusing on giving to a new pet after losing a beloved one.

Meanwhile the river is busy with barges and our 50's are to give way to 60's and 70's for a week!

I saw my first flicker of the season and the chorus frogs were LOUD in the roadside ditch at the edge of town.

You have a great Day and Holiday weekend.

I am thankful for each of you. Be well.


Beret April 18, 2014

It's like there is an underground stray cat network and your name is on it! They seem to find their way there.

woman in the moon April 18, 2014

I'm glad it's DOG you would replace Tom with. Otherwise I'd be too jealous.

thesunnyabyss April 18, 2014

I think that the cats in your area are talking about how nice it is in your house, lol,

it got cold here again and the peepers are quiet, but they should be back today or tomorrow, I hope,

have a good weekend,

ps, totally agree, a new life, although it doesn't replace an old one, always is so much awesomeness,

hugs and love!!!

BentnotBroken April 19, 2014

Perhaps the cats do like depressions era hobos did,mark your house as good for a free meal? Lol. You are officially a crazy cat lady. :-) hugss.

Tick Tock Tick BentnotBroken ⋅ April 19, 2014

That is a happy image! And, yes, I've worn the Crazy Cat Lady hat for decades now!

jamez April 19, 2014

An elderly couple in a bus, he says ‘what would you did if I died’ with out a glance to her husband she told him ‘when you died I’m going to live with her sister’ Some people are very much to the point!

Our weather continues sunny and cool, so we enjoy I had lunch out on the patio; really on the table on the patio! But a first for this year, Sweetheart said ‘you don’t feel the cold’ I also spent twenty minuets on the swing bench with Ziggy by my side, he did relax for a while but he can’t keep it up, then he’s sitting up listing and sniffing the air in true watch dog style …..

You and Tom take good care of each other and enjoy Easter.

Daisy Mae April 19, 2014

And the loveliest crazy cat lady I know. I'd be the same if hubby weren't such a grouch about it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.