Keystone Pipeline? in New Immigrant

  • April 17, 2014, 3:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Somewhere I've heard/read that much of the Keystone Pipeline already exists in America. Have you heard that too? I think it was Brian Schweitzer (former Montana governor and possible Democratic presidential hopeful) I heard. He supports the pipeline and frack oil drilling. He said it's only in the Ogalala Aquifer areas that it's not under construction. Anyway, on the Canadian Pacific owned tracks that run in front of our place and along the Iowa side of the river up here, yesterday I counted ten cars carrying green pipe (about 18" in diameter) with Canada stamped on it. Made me wonder. I'll goggle and see what I find.

The change in what the trains now haul is striking. Every day there are long trains of nothing but frac sand cars, as well as trains with a mixture of things - oil cars, sand cars and grain cars mostly. Lots and lots of oil cars, on both sides of the river (other side is Burlington-Northern and Santa Fe track primarily, judging by the engines).

It doesn't make me feel a bit safe from frac sand mining here in Allamakee County.

(Can't believe a Keystone ad popped up when I saved this entry!)

Checked online and there are maps showing where the pipeline exists. Also found photographs of the pipe and it surely does look like what I saw. I would prefer they continue to ship by rail with increased safety regulations. You do all know they are headed to the Gulf where they are building plants to turn it into gas and sell it around the world. Some question if that will increase all gas prices.


Beret April 17, 2014

No, I didn't know all this. Thanks for informing.

RosesAreRed April 20, 2014

Hmmmm..

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.