Smiles and Frowns in New Immigrant

  • April 16, 2014, 3 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Laughed out loud yesterday at the check-out lane. The young father in front of me was juggling unloading and checking-out with two little ones, a three year son and four year old daughter. The little boy needed to go to the bathroom and finally decided he could not wait. Dad insisted, "Go!" He raced over to the nearby restroom from which we heard constant chatter and Dad admonishing, "I can't come now." Shortly the little guy emerged with a proud grin lighting his face, running to Dad to share his victory. The clerk and I were roaring because Son was wearing his snow pants but was naked on top, dragging his clothes across the floor. Frazzled Dad had to hide his grin. I smiled at the commonality kids create. Who couldn't relate to Dad's dilemma?

Sad Face - For those of you who also follow me on Facebook you saw the photo of great-niece Lila (3) with her Grandpa at the zoo. A happy outing we thought, and it was until Lila, her Mom and our BIL Jack were in line for hotdogs. Lila and Mom finished first and got a nearby table. When Jack was done he sat down at a different table. Heather waved at him and he waved back. It was obvious he had no idea who she was. Nor did he when they joined him. The family has been denying the extent of Jack's mental issues, as we all do. I know Tom and I did the same with our mothers.

Concerned Expression - Meanwhile Lila's Dad has been wearing a heart monitor for a week. Apparently he fainted and that's what precipitated the heart monitor. A lifelong smoker, despite repeated and earnest efforts to quit, he has had three stents already.

Big Frown - For several months now Lila and her family have had coughs and generally not felt well. Heather (Mom) googled their symptoms and learned they may be related to formaldehyde being emitted from their new kitchen cabinets!

Fierce Growl - Niece Jen's boss (a fool) called her and said she should resign. Jen has not fully recovered from her October brain surgery and, in fact, is still living with her sister and BIL. She has vacation and medical days left. Her BIL, who is one of the company presidents, interceded on her behalf. Would that fool be breaking rules about medical leave? Jen still suffers from fatigue and uses a cane for balance problems. The Bell's Palsy remains. She is thinking of selling her two story townhouse and buying a smaller one story. She's talking with some friends at her church about another job when she can work. Still, we are grateful for her Sister's love and kindness. I know she would not mind having Jen remain with them, they have the space.

Smile - Thanks to Woman in the Moon for mentioning the Decorah eagles. This years three eaglets are more special than other years because two months ago when the temperatures dipped to below zero, there was fear the eggs had frozen.

Smile - Lila is very proud about being toilet trained. They were in the car to go home after visiting Grandma and Grandpa and she had to rush back inside "to go." There is a big mirror on the back of that bathroom door, probably something she doesn't have at home. Tom's Sister had to howl with laughter because after "going" Lila stood in front of that mirror, pulled down her underpants, looked and pulled them up, turning to Grandma with a huge smile across her face!

Smile - Excited that we will see Lila and her family next month when big sister Violet graduates from high school.

Smile - Willow is still here with us. Although she's confined to the bedroom and bathroom she seems blissfully happy. Every night she sleeps purring, curled in my arm.

Smile - Yesterday was a food gathering day when I drove to Prairie du Chien on the Iowa side along winding, hilly roads then returned on the WI side, taking the highway that hugs the Mississippi River. Am I lucky or am I lucky?

Smile - I am so grateful we OD'ers were able to find another gathering place. You are The Best company.

Smile - I am grateful none of my neighbors are around.

Smile - I am grateful there are three eaglets in the Decorah nest.

I wish you all happiness.

Carpe Diem.

Wear a flack jacket. This is the U.S.A.


Deleted user April 16, 2014

There were more smiles than frowns! :)

jamez April 16, 2014

I think your trip to the supermarket is better than the A390 or A30, straight and quick but seems to bypass photographic Cornwall; but once of them it soon improves. There are two roads in USA I would like to drive, the Coast road of California, and that long hi-way of bridges in Florida; not any time soon!

Dad always enjoyed children, their bungalow in Shrewsbury was just a short way from a Junior School, there was one boy who liked to go to School with a long plastic sword [by the size of a junior school boy] followed by his Mum going home with the sward in hand!

One topic I didn’t read in your entry was snow, I’ve heard of the white stuff retuning; so I hope spring has taken hold in Iowa. We’ve had some sunny days the last week, the forecast for Easter is not so promising, we have the agility Easter event on Easter Sunday; and a forecast of 90% chance of rain – we’re thinking of water proofing Ziggy’s Easter Bonnet – Lola will not wear hats!

Beret April 16, 2014

Yes, a mixed bag but lots of good stuff!

~ Honesty ~ April 17, 2014

I'm a fellow iowan,I love watching the decorah eagles for longer periods when I have time and quickly checking up on them through the live cam on a daily basis. I saw you on the front page,I am still settling in here yet,This doesn't quite feel like home yet,I am missing OD something fierce but am glad to meet someone else from this lovely state and it's always a smiley event when I have the chance to make a new friend :)

BentnotBroken April 17, 2014

Great entry. I like the good and the bad. Makes us appreciate the good all the more. Hugs from the prairie. :-)

thesunnyabyss April 18, 2014

it's always so nice that you appreciate so much in your life,

It's so hard to watch someone you love and care about deal with mental issues, I am still in shock over my BIL's recovery, and hope it continues to go well, although personally I am skeptical, the changes are just so drastic and sudden,

I am not sure how many eaglets are out here this spring, we still see the eagles on occasion, but as often as I look, they are not in their usual places,

have a wonderful weekend my friend, hugs and love!!!

RosesAreRed April 20, 2014

Congrats on having more smiles! 😊

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.