Snipes and Barges in New Immigrant

  • April 12, 2014, 10:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A huge coal barge is passing by! It's sixty, windy and might get a (much needed) April Shower. The other day the eastern half of Iowa was RED on the weatherman's map to signal a No Burn Alert. First time I remember that happening for such a large area.

The fact that Tom hasn't shown much interest in our river place/world has been weighing heavily on me. The other day I had a breakthrough when I realized during the previous three years of his book writing, when he visited I would need him to do things I couldn't. He seldom "played," only worked.

Yesterday when he suggested visiting the ponds or the New Albin Marsh, I chose the marsh and told him why. At the ponds we worry about the washout and wonder how we'll fix it, while a marsh visit is recreation. He agreed.

That glorious marsh did NOT let us down! Tom followed a mink all over, getting several photos. When the dozen or more resident sandhill cranes called, he lit up with glee. We heard frogs for the first time this year and even saw two birds we'd never seen in our lives - snipes. They resemble woodcocks - are smallish shorebirds with beaks as long as their bodies!

Counted at least a dozen lesser yellowlegs, also shorebirds with long legs and were busily eating and fun to watch. Two great (white) egrets, first of the year, looked sleek, Japanese and photogenic. Tom was really "into" it, like in former times. There were also four eagles hunting shovelers. Everywhere we turned something was going on.

Both to and from we saw the special trumpeter swans.

We capped off our memorable afternoon with another chicken/artichoke pizza, who could ask for more!? Truly grateful to rediscover "the old Tom," the passionate naturalist.

Have a great Palm Sunday. I was one week early for Easter, I now realize.

I am grateful for the unending joys of Spring. For having Tom enjoy birding as much as I did. That the kittens continue to be wild and crazy.

You have a Special Weekend. Be Safe.


thesunnyabyss April 12, 2014

a lot of people are early for Easter this year, myself including,

are there photos of your marsh trip? sounds so rejuvenating,

big hugs, enjoy your weekend!!!

Deleted user April 12, 2014

It all sounds sooooo lovely! I think it's cool you figured out why Tom has not been interested in your River place. Makes sense! Artichoke on pizza sounds wonderful. It's my favorite veggie.

woman in the moon April 12, 2014

My time at the dentist is May 2nd. Seems a long time in the future - well it did before I got my taxes done but now that they are done it will be my next milestone. Part of me enjoys dentistry because I have the full attention of someone. Ego, anyone? I'm glad you and Tom are enjoying the beauties of nature. Lovely time and place.

jamez April 14, 2014

Things read much better in Iowa this time, so the snow has melted away at last, here we are into mid spring and notice some change each day; we have a nice mix of flowers wild and cultivated!

Our weather is sunny and a cold wind, but the sun is warm enough now so we can enjoy it when out of the wind, also us and the Dogs are enjoying regular agility classes! Easter Sunday is the Easter Event at the Agility Class, so a chance of earning more rosettes, the only grit in the ointment is a chance of rain on Sunday; it the papers are right we shall be washed away – anything to sell a paper I think with fingers crossed.

We have plenty of birds here now, not that I’m knowledgeable in that area, I now have Dad’s large book of British Birds; I like to look though it now and then but mostly for the connection.

Linda April 14, 2014

I envy those who live nearer to nature. Enjoy.

Beret April 15, 2014

The marsh sounds wonderful! And what a revelation about Tom and the cabin! Maybe you can change his perception.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.