A very good Friday here in New Immigrant

  • April 11, 2014, 10:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This time I will start with my gratefuls. I am grateful both Pyewackett and Una are doing well after being spayed yesterday. I am grateful Tom joined me. I'm grateful my Danish friend has returned from her visit home.

What the vet failed to disclose about the girls' procedure was she would charge their batteries! Since their return our challenge has been to keep them in the kennel and to prevent them from hurting themselves!

Una's surgery was 2 1/2 hours before we retrieved her and she was even perky in the carrier on the trip home. All evening she was climbing the kennel, playing with toys and searching for ways to escape. Pyewackett DID, in fact escape, with us nervously 'chasing' her while trying to appear not to be!

This morning they continued to eat heartily and are now free and wild. Both have had to return for sniffs, retrieving toys and using that litter box again.

Pyewackett also needed three molars pulled. Because of a harrowing experience with my Mom's cat after an extraction (he refused food), I worried about Pye but she even consumed her crunchies. You may remember she has the bad teeth wild cats often have from their 'natural' diet.

The charge for the two surgeries was barely more than what they wold have charged for one cat at the other vet!

Yesterday I assumed, WRONG again, that Tuco would be lonely and concerned about her Mom and Sister being gone, instead she was more playful and affectionate than ever.

Spot, however, was extremely pleased to welcome the two and lay stretched alongside their kennel much of the evening. When Pye got out this morning she rubbed Spot with non-hormonal passion.

Best Wishes to those of you who celebrate Easter. I will think of the churches ringing with the "Hallelujah" chorus and ponder hope and renewal in this troubled world.

Carpe Diem!


Deleted user April 11, 2014

That is so funny that they were that perky after surgery! Must be their youth and good health because you take such good care of them. Love your comment about Easter. Hope and renewal....my prayer for this world of ours.

Linda April 11, 2014

Two of my dogs just had teeth cleaning. They were not perky. :)

Beret April 11, 2014

Glad they are doing well and full of energy!

thesunnyabyss April 12, 2014

I love hearing about your kids, I'm glad all went well and everyone is home and healthy,

hugs and love!!!

BentnotBroken April 13, 2014

Surgery on our animals is much harder on us,I think. Lol. Luna is next to be spayed here. I'll be glad when its over and everyone is fixed.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.