Still a student! in A day in the life...

  • April 10, 2014, 10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just not a court reporting student. Are you confused? Let me explain.

A while back I signed up and paid for online medical billing classes. I got all the books, logged on.....and never bothered to finish the program. Then I up and signed up for the court reporting program. This is what happens when you have ADD, OCD and Bipolar Disorder. Yeah, I'm a hot mess....but I'm a helluva lot of fun!

So a couple of days ago the court reporting dream went poof, as you all know. I wrote that while I was disappointed, I was also a bit relieved because it's a VERY expensive course of study and I had jumped into it without really thinking about it...especially the financial aspect of it. I also have to admit, after the one assignment we had where we had to read an article that was an interview with a court reporter, I was wondering if I had picked the right field. I love to type and I think I would make a good court reporter, but I didn't have a clue how stressful the job was until after I read that article. It's much more than just listening to people and typing....MUCH more. And to be honest, I'm not sure that mentally I could handle that type of stress again.

Anyway, so I was sitting here last night pondering my future and wondering if I should start looking for a part-time job, wait until the short-term disability is up, wait until we see what happens with the lawsuit....blah blah blah....when my eyes landed on the medical billing books laying on the floor by my desk. And then I heard this voice in my head that said, "Finish what you start, Amy." So today I called the medical billing school, found out that yes, I'm still enrolled and still have plenty of time to finish the program, so I'm good to go!

I've said it before, the medical field has always been my first love. I only got into the legal field because it paid more and being a single mom, I needed to make as much money as I could. Now I'm at a point in my life where I don't have to put up with emotional and mental abuse because I need the money. My husband makes good money, and after Michaela graduates in about six weeks we'll only have child support to pay for Sera for two more years, so now I can go back to the field I love.

I do think those five weeks in the court reporting program were good for me, though. I proved to myself that I can kick butt when I want to. One of the last assignments I had to do was make a detailed weekly schedule, very detailed...putting in everything I do in a day short of going to the bathroom. When I first started doing it I thought, this sucks! It took me a couple of hours to get it done. But when I finished it I was really proud of it, and I also realized that this will be a good thing for me to continue. I need some structure in my life.

Oh, and the best thing about the medical billing program....there are no assignments or deadlines! You sign up, pay the tuition, get your books and all your login information, then you have 18 months to complete the program. You get online and start with Module 1 and study and do the drills and take the tests whenever is good for you, until your done with all the modules. I love that!

I went to the gym with my friend Janice tonight. Oy, what a workout! Elliptical first, then leg machines, then arm machines, then treadmill, then ab machines. I was sweating like a politician taking a polygraph when we got done, but it felt really good....especially the nice hot shower I took when I got home.

I don't know why, but I am having the worst sweet cravings lately...and that's so not like me! When I have cravings it's usually for salty/carb stuff...like chips and crackers. Lately all I want is sugar! I believe I already mentioned I demolished a bag of robin eggs in one day last week. I have to kick this, but I don't know how. Help!!

I need a pedicure something fierce. My toenails need cutting and my heels look horrible. I don't like to cut my own toenails because whenever I do I end up cutting them too short and then they get ingrown. There's a nail spa I go to where they know me really well, know I'm diabetic, and take really good care of my feet for me. I'm going to have to try and get in there next week. I like my feet to look pretty when the weather is nice and I'm wearing sandals a lot, so I get a pedicure every two weeks during spring and summer.

I'd really like to end this on an interesting note, but I got nothing. Oh, I'm constipated again. I'm also bored, so I'm going to see what I can find to watch on the t.v.

Lotsa love! xoxo


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.