I guess it wasn't meant to be in A day in the life...

  • April 9, 2014, 8:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I got a phone call from the financial aid office of the court reporting school yesterday. Apparently my student loan from when I went to Rasmussen several years ago is in default. I was under the impression it had been deferred since I've been on short-term disability. Guess I was wrong. And since it's classified as defaulted, I'm not eligible for any further financial aid. So I got to finish the first module and ended up with a 95.14%. I'm proud that I did so well, but I'm not going to lie and say I'm not disappointed that it's over before I even really got to begin. I called Great Lakes (the Rasmussen loan company) and talked to them and asked them what I had to do to get the loan out of default status and they said I have to make six monthly payments in a row of $195 a month. I begged them to take it out of default status and told them I was trying to continue my education, but they wouldn't budge. They won't remove the default tag until the six monthly payments have been made. Well, at least after the loan is out of default status and if I decide to continue with the court reporting, I won't have to start back at the very beginning since I did finish the first module.

The steno machine showed up today. I called the company I ordered it from and they emailed me a return label, which I printed out, and gave me a number that I have to write on the box. Tomorrow I'm going to take the box, which I didn't even bother to open, to the nearest FedEx office and send it back. Hopefully by the end of next week they will have refunded the $500 deposit I put down on it.

I think I might have jumped at this court reporting thing too quickly. When I called the college just to get information on the program, the advisor I talked with got me so excited about it that I just up and said "sign me up!" without even thinking about it...especially the financial aspect of it. Because even after I get out of default and qualify for financial aid again, I'm still going to be responsible for a big chunk of the tuition myself. So honestly, even though I'm disappointed, a part of me is also a little relieved. I need to see what's going to happen with this lawsuit and whether or not I'll quality for long-term disability or have to go back to work, etc. I only have one more month of short-term disability left. Yeah, it really wasn't the smartest thing to do at this time, signing up for a quite expensive school program.

Went to the gym today and did over an hour on the treadmill. It felt good. Tomorrow after dropping the box off at FedEx I'm going to go to church and get the elementary kids activities and lessons ready so I don't have to rush to do it before church on Saturday, then I'm going to drive over to the new church campus and help out there again. Wonder if I'll end up on a scaffold again? I'm kinda hoping not...lol.

A week from today I'll be spending literally all day at the shrink/therapist's office. Starting at 8:30 a.m., I'll be getting interviewed by interns/students. I'll go through four different interview sessions and I'm getting paid $15 for each one. Hey, $60 sounds good to me! Then after the interviews are over, group therapy starts at 4 p.m. Getting there at 8:30 a.m. is going to suck royally, but at least they're going to feed us....and hopefully provide copious amounts of coffee!

New Criminal Minds tonight....WOO HOO!! Love that show!

So Easter is coming, which means the stores have loads and loads of candy out. Any of you ever had or know of the Whopper Easter eggs? Oh dear Lord, those things are like crack to me. I ate A WHOLE FREAKING BAG OF THEM in one day! Yes, you read that right....a whole bag in one day. I told my husband, do NOT let me buy anymore of those! He said he'd do his best, but sometimes when it comes to something I really want and he tries to tell me no, I scare him....lol. We went to the store today and I'm proud to say I walked right by them. I was drooling and almost crying, but I didn't buy any.

Crap....I just remembered I haven't put the grandbabies' Easter outfits in the mail yet. I'll have to put that on my schedule for next week.

I need to get out of here....as in take a vacation. I'm going to reschedule my aborted San Diego trip for May. I just have to get some good dates from my son. I love that kid more than life, but sometimes he gets on my last damn nerve. I know it's the age...he's almost 23 and thinks he's king of the world. I guess it's hard for me to think of it like that because when I was his age I already had him and didn't have the luxury of taking people for granted and doing whatever the heck I wanted. I had to grow up fast and be responsible. He just pisses me off when he says he's going to call me and give me good dates, but I'm the one who ends up having to make numerous calls to him to get the information.

I'm still planning on going to Colorado either this summer or fall. I'd love for it to be a BFF trip, but if she can't/doesn't want to go then I'm going by myself. Maybe that would do me some good anyway...time with no one but myself and God.

Well, I feel like I've babbled on long enough and probably bored you all to tears, so I'll end your suffering and say goodnight. I hope everyone has a wonderful day tomorrow.

Much love...xoxo


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.