Any Opinions? in New Immigrant

  • April 6, 2014, 5:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Big fat Frown: Was anyone else incensed by the announcing done during the NCAA Kentucky vs. Wisconsin game? It sounded like a high school home team announcer was brought it. Everything was about Kentucky! Tom and I, in our respective abodes, were seething. I watched on Mute to keep from splitting a gasket. Anyone else hear it?

Sad Face: Longtime friend Molly's USAID son called from Albania to say he was leaving for London, that USAID was sending him there for further tests about a possible brain (arachnoid) cyst. No Mother wants to contemplate brain surgery on her son but we must hope, first of all, that tomorrow's MRI also shows it's a benign cyst.

Smile: Una finally made it to atop the blinds. She's been working on this tirelessly. Feels rather like she's won the Olympics.

Frown: The northeast Iowa TV news reported "break-ins to several cabins in the Lansing area." People are returning to find guns missing. At least no one could make it up my driveway this winter to rob me! Still creepy though.

Smile: Although the book "A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier" doesn't make you smile, it is well worth reading. Ishmael Beah, that former boy soldier, takes you into his mind, including through two years of the fighting in Sierra Leone. I feel like I am gaining deeper understanding. Just as Solomon Northrup did in "Twelve Years a Slave," Beah delineates the realities of his life. A word of caution though, do not do as I have and read this at bedtime.

Guffaw: After the Supreme's Court decision on campaign financing a radio caller suggested we toss out the term "Election" and replace it with the more accurate "Auction," where the wealthiest line up with paddles and bid for the winner.

Smile: White pelicans are gathering in groups all along the Mississippi.

Frown: At everyone who doesn't understand why an increase in restaurant workers pay is fair, watch Bill Moyers & Company online.

Cautious Grin: They are saying it will be in the sixties for several days. Hey, I'll settle for fifties!

Smile: Have made good progress completing my Easter cards (alias Christmas cards) today. I am the Gold Medal Procrastinator, right? (What a lousy claim to fame!)

Deep Happiness: Being involved with you and your lives again is a daily pleasure!

I am thankful for Spot, for Spring and for You.

Have a Good Week. Be Safe.


Deleted user April 06, 2014

:) Hi there! It is my pleasure reading you again!

woman in the moon April 06, 2014

... taking the R out of free speech....

Daisy Mae April 06, 2014

And we are so grateful for you ;)

jamez April 07, 2014

Our spring weather got lost today, it is what they call here a soft day, which is a day of endless fine rain, and today we have mist as well; so it has been dull wet and cold – according to the dashboard it was 11 C – 52ish in old money!

Ziggy has been to his groomer today, Lola had a walk out in the soft misty stuff!

Restaurant workers have a hard time here, us Brits are not natural tippers, I’m some where between 10 and 20 percent so it lucky they are paid just – tips making up the rest!

I haven’t bought my Easter Cards yet, I need to get into Truro soon …..

The game, is that American Football or Baseball [Known as Rounder’s here] The last time I watched a football game was with Dad, Mum was in hospital and I was looking after him, it was the last time I spent any amount with him; two minuets after the match I asked about the game – he quietly looked confused. Normally I don’t watch soccer, I don’t find watching millionaires in sorts running about entertaining; is it me – I expect it is!

I hope all is well, and warmer soon!

Deleted user April 08, 2014

Nice entry ! I did not watch that game. I was highly incensed at The Supreme Court's ruling; as if our government wasn't corrupt enough already ...I hope your friend's son has a benign cyst. Please let us know. I have not read a decent book for awhile. This house remodel is stressing me out to the Max . I spend way too much time escaping on line :-( instead of doing chores or reading books ... We have had white pelicans visit our lake on a couple of occasions. It's not common here though. Speaking of cats our new little fellow, Caleb , is developing quite a personality . He is into everything he shouldn't be on a regular basis. He also tipped over one of my fish tanks and ate my favorite fish. I was not happy :-( I truly do not think he was a year old like the pound said; he is still very much a naughty kitten. He has picked Frank to be his person so now Frank excuses any mischief he gets into. It's kind of funny. Frank normally is not a cat person. He even lets Caleb sleep on him when he is laying on the couch. No other cat has that privilege. I don't do Easter cards. I barely did Christmas cards cause I had a bad case of the flu all Christmas week. It was horrible ! As for burglars ; you need a dog:-) anyone who comes in our house will quickly regret it ! The house is like a mine field because the kitchen remodel is stalled till April 22 and five dogs live here , one of which is a testy Pitbull ( she is not really but she looks formidable ) and don't forget Mabel( ancient as the hills but she is huge ) and is actually crabby to strangers. Frank has all his guns locked in a safe that weighs a ton and it's bolted to the floor. Plus we have a security system ( besides the dogs) and I have a taser and pepper spray. I take breaking in very seriously . Hoping you are having a good week.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.