Despite the weather... in A day in the life...

  • April 4, 2014, 11:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

...I'm actually not doing too bad. I mean, I didn't shower or get out of my pajamas today, but I also didn't sit around crying and wishing I were dead. And I got a bunch of school work done...so yay me!

Last night Mary and I met up with a bunch of people from church at the building that is going to be the church's second campus so we could help out. All the people who go to Metro (church) helped build the first church, and now we're all going to help build the second one as well. Mary can't do anything strenuous since she broke her neck a couple of years ago so she got to sit and sort through stuff. But my lucky self got to get up on a scaffold and wash steel beams. The first time I climbed up on the scaffold and stood up my knees were shaking like crazy, but it eventually got less scary the more I was on it. Climbing down off of it was quite comical...lol. I was holding into the ladder on the side of the scaffold with one leg hanging down and one still up on the scaffold because my foot got stuck at the top. When I wasn't up on the scaffold I was carrying large buckets of dirty water to the "water room" and dumping them and then refilling them with clean water and taking them back to the room we were working in. My upper back was killing me when I got home last night and I was filthy, but I got to meet and talk to some new people while I was there and it was actually kinda fun. I'm going to try and do it every Thursday. It's also a good workout!

I got my steno machine ordered today, so I should have it within a week or so. Today one of our assignments was to write a paper after we read an interview with a court reporter. After reading that interview I felt really intimidated and started questioning whether or not I could really do this. Yeah, the "committee" in my head started chiming in full force. I eventually told them to shut the eff up because I CAN do this, and I WILL! Sometimes (okay, a lot of the time) I'm my own worst enemy. Everyone seems to have faith in me but me.

I got a call from the doctor's office today. The x-rays of my right elbow and shoulder showed a lot of inflammation in both, so tomorrow I have to make some phone calls and set up some physical therapy. That sucks. I will say, though, that the cortisone shot in my elbow the doctor gave me the other day seems to be working quite nicely. I don't have to keep my arm bent and held across my abdomen all the time anymore. As far as the gym goes, this means I can't use any of the arm machines until I'm all better. I'm sure hauling those heavy buckets of water around last night didn't help much either. Next time I'll have to tell them I can do anything that doesn't involve picking up heavy stuff with my right hand/arm.

I don't really have much else to say, I guess, except I'm desperately hoping for some sun this weekend. Too many days of gray rainy days = no bueno as far as my mental status goes.

Hope everyone has a fantabulous weekend!! Much love...xoxo


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.