Holiday in Life from the bottom of the world.

  • April 4, 2014, 8:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In 12 days we gone on a long overdue holiday, it will be short but it will be so nice to actually go away that I won't care.

We are going to drive up to the top of the Sth Island and get the ferry across to the lower Nth Island. It is a 3 hr trip and you go through some amazing scenery as you leave the Sth Island. Miss Fidgets doesn't remember her last trip on the ferry as she was only just 2 yrs. Bob has never been on the ferry so it will a new encounter for him.

When we get to Wellington we will drive inland to Palmerston Nth (approx 2 hrs) to his sisters place where we will stay. Miss Fidgets will stay with her Nanna and Grandad who live near by.

We arrive on the Thursday evening and then we leave before the birds wake on the Monday. We will have Easter together and Miss Fidgets will do an easter egg hunt with her cousin who is 2. It will be his first egg hunt so that will be another milestone that my MIL can enjoy, seeing her 2 grandkids together.

Although I am really looking forward to getting away, I'm not looking forward to leaving the dogs in the kennels. We have found an excellent kennel and I know they will be looked after well but they are my "babies" and I do worry about them. I am getting Bob to drop them off as I know I'll get all teary and the dogs will sense my tension and probably get stressed.

When we get back home on Easter Monday, Bob and I have taken that week off so we might even do a some day trips. Miss Fidgets is on school holidays so it will be more family time. Might do a day trip to see some whales as last time there was sea fog so we couldn't go out.

Just hope the weather co-operates as Easter is know to be variable and if it's crap weather then the ferry trip will be extremely rough which doesn't worry me but does make the trip less enjoyable.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.