Let it all out in Life from the bottom of the world.

  • April 3, 2014, 8:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been exceptionally lazy in not writing an entry and only noting a few times despite reading everyones diaries. Life hasn't been too bad of late, long may it continue!

Work has been a roller coaster ride to say the least. A trial occurred in our office to determine if Psych Services for the Elderly would be more efficient and productive if they worked from our Team than their current one. For 4 weeks they worked alongside us (Older Persons Health) and it went amazingly well. Then for 3 weeks they returned to their own Team and now they are analysing which system worked best. It has been very obvious that working in our office was the best but to make the changes will be time consuming as the District Health Board will need to review all the information and then review job descriptions and funding...blah blah blah. The trial ended last friday and then on Monday it was back to status quo. This week has emphasised how much stress we have been under all these years as to have a 7 week hiatus and no stress made us quickly forget. Work has not been fun to be at, usually I enjoy going and love my job but this week I have woken up wanting to not go in. When the results are out, we'll have to see how long it takes to implement the proposed changes. Nothing in the Health Department is ever done quickly!

We had some friends come stay with us from Aussie, haven't seen Judith and Imdad for around 8yrs. I met them through Ceroc and Imdad has remote control planes/helicopters so he and Bob often Skype. Imdad is an aeronautical engineer who works for Qantas so we had some good discussions about the tragic missing plane. The funny thing about their visit is that it was seriously as though we had seen each other just recently. To me that's what a true friendship is about, the ability to just pick up where you left off.

Miss Fidgets has been as gorgeous as ever. We had an incident last week where she came home with nits....arrggghh! She was TOTALLY mortified about this so I had to reassure her that unfortunately at school this happens more often than not. Bob apparently had really bad nits as a kid so that was a bit of solace for her. We did the whole strip all the linen, clean all the headbands, wash clothes and school hat and then we all got to have the nit shampoo with nit combing afterwards. I have never had nits, I remember us all being checked at school by a lady with "chopsticks" but kids aren't checked anymore, it's up to parents to watch for the symptoms and I know there are many parents who just don't really worry about it. I am pleased to say that it looks as though we have broken the cycle and she is not itchy anymore. She actually developed a rash on her neck from the little blighters!

A couple of days ago Miss Fidgets told me she had a wobbly tooth, to me it wasn't wobbly enough to come out. It had been wobbly for over 6mths! We were eating dinner when her tooth finally popped out. She was surprised, shocked and excited all within a few seconds. I thought that she would be realising that the tooth fairy doesn't exist, she is 9. Nope, she still truly believes and I'm not going to stop her believing.

She put her tooth in a small pouch and put it under her pillow. She even wrote a note for the tooth fairy. I love her innocence. Finding that bloody tooth in her bed was a mission and a half. The pouch wasn't under her pillow. Luckily she is a very sound sleeper so I felt around under her pillow, even moved her head! Then I pulled her bed out from against the wall in case it had slipped down. Nope. She stayed asleep even when I pushed her bed back and it hit the wall a bit roughly. I then rolled her over and there was the pouch...next to her hip!

I promptly replaced the tooth with a gold coin and tucked her back in. I even signed her note with T.F. I put her tooth down the kitchen sink and went to bed. She woke up early the next morning and excitedly told me how the tooth fairy had visited and had even signed her wee note. One very happy girl.

Next it's Easter and it looks as though she still believes in the Easter Bunny as she was concerned that he wouldn't find her since we are going to the Outlaws for Easter and they live in the Nth Island. I reassured her all would be fine, have also spoken to Sister in law and we are organising an Easter egg hunt for Miss Fidgets and her cousin JJ who is only 2.

I do wonder when the magic will end, when do they stop believing? I can't remember when I did, although I do remember my first Xmas and no gift from Santa, think I was 10. Xmas wasn't as exciting although only briefly as how can a kid not get excited about getting lots of gifts!

So this has been my life of late. No complaints really. We are all healthy, happy and enjoying family and friends. Just how it should be.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.