March Madness in New Immigrant

  • March 26, 2014, 4:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Puzzled: I miss you all and fully intend to continue writing here, for those who may have wondered. I miss not being part of your lives and having our give and take. In recent weeks my daily schedule has been changed with Tom here more, with exercise and frequent birding excursions added to my routine, I've not managed where to reschedule my computer time. This causes me pangs of guilt as well as thinking about you continually, wondering how you are. I intend to get things worked out.

Smile: Basketball is "my" game. Two Iowa teams were/are in the NCAA tournament and gave us nail-biting performances, the Wisconsin Badgers did too. The "high" sporting events provide is not loss on me. I always wonder if it supplants the primitive "thrill" of the hunt.

Smile: Spot and Una are purring on my lap.

Smile: The truck is running again. Repair of the broken brake cable and ABS connection cost $681. The Wisconsin Toyota dealership was exceptional in maintaining contact, spelling things out clearly, and even reporting those damages were most likely from the towing (which was our expectation, you recall).

Frown: Since our last claim our insurance company (Allied) has changed. Not that WE changed it, but it's been bought by a larger corporation or something. Rather than a local agent who knows us, we are now dealing with an out-of-town person. If we read our policy we might have known we were to contact Allied in advance about towing. All this makes us wonder how much of the claim they will pay. The body work will be $3,500. This winter has caused an above-normal number of claims and we fear that could affect us. Even our body shop can't work on the truck until April 21st!

Smile: Our body shop recommended an auto glass company which thinks it can repair the back window (hammered out during my earlier house/car lock out) for $50.

Smile: I've continued getting on the treadmill regularly. My calendar is filled with the red stars I draw for myself on those days. However, I am looking forward to walking OUTDOORS.

Frown: Have not lost any weight.

Smile: Have Pyewackett and Una scheduled to be spayed next week. Pye seems to be constantly in heat so I don't know if she can have it (surgery is risky then). Spot is patient and sweet with her, licking her (both ends) but that is all he can do. I laugh when she presents herself and he bats at her tail! Isn't it interesting that both she and Una focus on him, a neutered male? Apparently he still exudes some male pheromones?

Frown: The main channel is open, despite an overnight low of 10' last night (bah-humbug). Two below freezing days in a row and many other windy, chilly ones are getting me down. For the next ten days daytime highs will be mainly in the forties (low for March/April).

Smile: Saw six Great Blue Herons together in a backwater fishing spot. The river is covered with ducks. I chanced to see a dozen male Hooded Mergansers fighting over a single female. Was she the Homecoming Queen, I wondered? At my favorite marsh there were a dozen sandhill cranes.

Smile: Gathered with friends for the first time in months. This winter has nearly done us in. Friend John took off for his daughter's in Florida. I gave him a hard time about not taking me along, too. If any of my Florida friends know anything about "snowbird" rentals, please help! Probably we should get a realtor in the area we're interested in (Fort Meyers, Tampa, Sarasota)? Both Tom and I are DONE with northern winters.

Frown: I need to try attaching photos here and still haven't.

Smile: HIGHLY RECOMMEND a book I've mentioned before, the Pulitzer Prize winning "Devil in the Grove" by Gilbert King. The focus is on a Lake County Florida
court case (1949 on) about the alleged (untrue) rape of a young white woman by four black men and the NAACP legal team, including Thurgood Marshall, who battled the case at the risk of their own lives. The well-researched history reads like a novel and shows the vile, despicable face of Jim Crow-ism in the courts equally with the reign of terror of Lake County's Sheriff Willis McCall.

I am grateful for: Each and every one of you Sunny days Having insurance

I will be noting you.

Carpe Diem!


Deleted user March 26, 2014

Nice seeing you back! Our Spring is temporarily gone here in GA. It is COLD today. I am glad for the return of sunshine. The grey days were making me feel blue. Cannot imagine living with your winter. Cannot say I blame you for being done! Nice to have a warm place to spend the winter. Once when I was little, I remember my Aunt Wilma and Uncle Charles spent a winter in California with his family. They would have loved to have done that every year, but couldn't afford it.

Tick Tock Tick Deleted user ⋅ March 26, 2014

Hi! Very glad to hear from you and I'm sorry it's cold there, too. Ditto about grey days affecting my psyche. / Being rather a HGTV addict, I notice the real estate prices in the Atlanta area are quite reasonable. I wonder if you have a sense of that. / My other question is about Georgia's "normal" winter temperatures - I know this wasn't a typical winter for you. What are your normal high and low winter temperatures. Think we could often go out for a walk, considering we are used to bitter cold? The dilemma, of course, is finding housing that would take eight cats! We fear we may have to buy something, although we don't have much money for that. Any information you can share would be appreciated, Mary Anna Elizabeth.

Deleted user Tick Tock Tick ⋅ March 27, 2014

I've lived here for over 20 years, but people who move here from other places have commented that the prices here are good. Especially if they come from places like California or Maryland where it is quite expensive they say......As for winter weather, I think you would do just fine and be able to walk every day. I live south of the airport which is a bit warmer than north of the airport because that is closer to a mountain area. But even there, the winters are certainly not harsh. The growing season here is really long because of the mild weather. Hope that helps! :)

Beret March 26, 2014

I think this winter is about to do everyone in. We had snow again yesterday and today it is frigid and downright windy. Not a good mix.

I'm following one of your Iowa schools in basketball. Sort of keeping an eye on the other but I do have my loyalties! And of course, watching my own team, women, who are off to the Sweet 16 after last night's win. That was a nail biter of a game for sure.

Glad to see you back here!

NorthernSeeker March 26, 2014

Good to hear from you! I envy you the bird watching. I haven't been outside and the birds are a little later coming north (smart birds). There isn't the open water yet for water fowl.

Daisy Mae March 26, 2014

This winter has truly done me in including the broken leg. I am not sure I can face another one but if course I just have to! We plan to ensure our next house is all one level, not being able to get to my bedroom or accessing the shower is hideous. Moving somewhere warm for the winter sounds very tempting.

Our neutered boy cat happily presents himself to both our spayed girl cat as well as our neutered dog. Before the dog had his Crown Jewels removed, he was quite happy to hump said neutered male cat :)

woman in the moon March 27, 2014

Wonderful entry! You covered a LOT of ground. Spot is a handsome guy.

Deleted user March 27, 2014

So pleased to see an entry from you ! This Winter and house remodeling will likely do me in. I did get outside briefly today and saw four deer gleaning in a nearby field. Wnen I walked close they just raised their heads and stared at me like a group of cows. I wanted to stay put but decided to leave them in peace. They must have been eating something good ! I don't go outside enough in the Winter. I hate the cold ...

thesunnyabyss March 27, 2014

I have always wants to see a merganzer up close andpersonal, ah , one day,

I sure hope the worst of the winter weather is done, but I'm glad the truck is fixed and you are enjoying your time with Tom and the kitties.

Take care, thank you for the update, big hugs and much love my friend!

MageB March 27, 2014

Hey, you are living life and enjoying it. Schedule once a week to write, or twice, then we will know how you are.

jamez April 03, 2014

At last we are back on Summer Time, now we only feel the need for a fire now and then, our spring this year is much warmer than last year, last April I met up with some Oz friends in Bath; they didn’t see the UK at its best.

Your winter seems to be hanging on, my Sister and Brother-in-law were in Austin Texas, visiting their youngest son who could be there for three more years – or more! All but two of their fourteen days were T shirt weather, the two day were snowy and frosty; proper coat and jumper weather.

I’ve found writing difficult lately, I write half a page and hit the clear button, and all around see reams of words waiting to be read; I must try harder! Taking about trying harder I’m still gaining weight – diets are no fun but necessary ……. )O:

jamez April 03, 2014

RYNote. Chinese food out of Asia is I’m sure is changed to the locals liking, my Sister’s elder son is married to a Chinese – Malaysian girl. When I was there in December they took my Sister, Brother-in-law and Uncle [me] to a Chinese Restaurant that is liked by the local Chinese living in Portsmouth, it was different from any Chinese food I had before.

The tastes smells and texture were all strange to me, it could be a food from an area that is not usually served in western Chinese Restaurant, some I enjoyed and others I would have to try once more, those dishes had a soft gluey texture and to my tong a taste I couldn’t place; but I was fine with the chop-sticks – slow but fine!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.