As promised... in Site Updates

  • March 19, 2014, 2:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My hope is that most users, now that they've had a chance to get used to the editor changes, either enjoy the new style or are indifferent to it. However, I know that some people still think it's horrid (and at least one user isn't seeing the text at all via phone). So I like to provide options.

There's a new Editor Style section under Settings (directly below the Theme selection). You have a couple of choices, the default being "Modern", and the old style as "Classic". If you like the old school, maybe Classic is more your thing. :)


RosesAreRed March 19, 2014

Great :)

Leanne 🌈 March 19, 2014

Sticking with the modern since i dig it. :)

Naiad March 19, 2014

Aw, you're so accommodating. :)

It took me a couple entries, but I'm digging the modern look now.

Complicated Disaster March 19, 2014

Choice FTW. Thanks!

Pretty Fly Jedi March 19, 2014

Thank you! I know myself and a couple other mobile users are having touble with the modern editor not showing text.

I really appreciate having the option. Thank you!

I

Deleted user Pretty Fly Jedi ⋅ March 19, 2014

You're right side up!

Pretty Fly Jedi Deleted user ⋅ March 19, 2014

I had to screen shot my picture! I dunno why-tf my phone refused to upload that pic upright no matter how many ways I tried it!

simple mind Pretty Fly Jedi ⋅ March 19, 2014

That was my main motivation, providing a fallback for those with display issues. If "Classic" doesn't fix the problem, I'm baffles about the cause. :)

Deleted user March 19, 2014

...but... I selected the classic option and it still looks like the modern one? Am I the only one with this problem? :(

Deleted user March 19, 2014

Thanks for the options. I like this new one and will stick to it.

Deleted user March 19, 2014

Neeeeeeevermind. I misunderstood. XD I was expecting the old editor and the only difference is a border. Ah, well.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ March 19, 2014

Yeah, the old one is history now, so I've done what I can to compromise on old vs new.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ March 19, 2014

What's stumbling me over is the editor bar being on the left side of the screen instead of over the entry text box. Every other editor I use has it there so it feels awkward to have to hunt for it.

I understand that would make the "clean sheet of paper" idea not look right. That look just isn't my thing, though. :shrugs:

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ March 19, 2014

Hey, I was just sharing my opinion. I'm pretty sure I'm allowed to do that. It's not like I was putting him on blast about it or getting personal about it. All I said is that it's not my thing and I'm not used to it.

Nash March 19, 2014

I think it was Plato who opined the best sort of government was that headed by a benevolent dictator.

simple mind Nash ⋅ March 19, 2014

Sounds better than the U.S.'s current two party system, actually. :)

Raven March 19, 2014

Great work!!

Cat Mommy March 19, 2014

I like the modern one better and I think most people do. It IS improved. :)

Sharee March 19, 2014

Modern all the way!

perfunctory March 19, 2014

Despite not having a single issue with any new thing you've implemented or old thing you've tweaked, I still adore your propensity for people-pleasing. :)

SweetMelissa March 19, 2014

"I'm taking it back to the old school cuz I'm an old fool, who's so cool. If you wanna get down Imma show the way, Whoomp there it is, lemme hear ya say..." PS. I like the new stuff-you are always awesome.

Deleted user March 19, 2014

I tried to switch to the classic look but nothing happened I saved the preferences and tried logging out and back in is anyone having this issue ?

Lepetit pumpkinesque March 19, 2014

Great!

!StarGazer! March 19, 2014

I love the modern one. I however can't wait for a real app for the iPhone!

Cat Mommy !StarGazer! ⋅ March 19, 2014

There are no plans for an app since the site is very mobile friendly so you'll be waiting a long while.

ConnieK March 19, 2014

I'll check it out the next time I write. You can't please everyone, so ya got to please yerself. :)

Krud March 19, 2014

thumbs up

dancerd March 19, 2014

:)

sparkli March 19, 2014

im keeping the modern, i really like it. it's so seamless that 3 times i had to check on my last entry that i hadnt really published it yet. :P thanks!

crafty_tori March 19, 2014

I'd be one of those indifferent folks. S'long as it works, and it does, for me.

Etoile Filante March 19, 2014

Aren't you a sweetheart! tickles your chin and chucks your cheeks xXx

I need tea. March 20, 2014

Thank youxx

Deleted user March 20, 2014

Thank you! I'll admit I was beginning to cringe every time I saw a site update and would think to myself, oh no, what's changed now? But additions are better than changes and so are CHOICES! Thanks for thinking of everyone's preferences and not just some. :)

woman in the moon March 20, 2014

I like the editor - a lot.

Dean Moriarty woman in the moon ⋅ March 21, 2014

I like that you moved to prosebox woman in the moon. a lot.

Shattered March 20, 2014

I'm sure this is a question that will give some a darn good chuckle...

But how do you make paragraphs? One of my books is entirely song videos and lyrics and since 99.99% of the time I'm on my phone, the editor bar doesn't show.

I'm sure it's an easy fix, but I'm not familiar with the platform you're using.

Thanks for all your help and hard work!

simple mind Shattered ⋅ March 21, 2014

For a regular paragraph just hit Enter twice. For a single line break, end the line with two spaces then hit enter once.

Shattered simple mind ⋅ March 21, 2014

Thank you so much for being so patient with my pestering :)

offmychest March 21, 2014

is there any way to edit notes?

Dean Moriarty March 21, 2014

Just saw the new editor, been gone for a month or so, I like it.
The new line thing is a pain still, but I'm getting the hang of it. Copying and pasting entries is the only issue with it, but the original format from the copy is probably as much a culprit as anything else, so don't stress it, but I'll be here for as long as you are, and will do my best to kindly mention it every month until the internet goes out of business :-) .
Profile pictures are always pixel-y, that may be an easy fix to put on your (undoubtedly long) list of potential touch ups. You know, we aren't looking for facebook. But The pretty girl with the nice poems deserves to be able to show off her pretty eyes. (And I really, REALLY, want to see them.)
But, as always, do what you can, and don't bother with anything that's too much trouble.
I love it all anyway.

simple mind Dean Moriarty ⋅ March 21, 2014

I just barely updated the profile pics to be bigger so you need to upload again to get better resolution. :-)

Star Maiden March 22, 2014

Not sure if you'll see this - but is there anyways to lock the page header in place? Every time I'm on the site I feel that angry feeling like when working with a massive spreadsheet and I didn't freeze the first row. ;)

Deleted user March 23, 2014

Wow, how nice to offer editor options :) Again your ability to compromise is awesome.

wayward spirit March 23, 2014

Thank you for giving us options! I really appreciate it. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.