Goo' Morning in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 26, 2024, 7:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s getting light here. I should be out like my new hero Dave Ramsey putting in a couple miles. I don’t know how old Dave it. I assume he’s younger than I am by at least decade, perhaps two. I’m surprised I like Dave. I’ve known ‘about’ him for a long time but I never bothered spending time with him. Turns out I agree with him on a lot of things, not all things for sure. He is one of those R-word people and I’m a definite D-word type of person. But he is also a careful man and I’m a careful woman - substitute person for man and woman, please.

I also like his relationship man - John Deloney, for a lot of the same reasons I like Dave. But John has a lot more charm and he’s better looking. But they both offer practicality. And praticality is what the world needs more of. Believe you me.

Anyway, it’s getting light here. Not sure if we get sunshine today or not. Just went to look and the sun is rising behind some photogenic clouds. Thermometer on the north side of the house viewed through the window says 48 degrees. That’s not warm. Spring is definitely here but we haven’t had a lot of warm weather. Still jackets are needed a lot of the time.

Yesterday I posted a pic of myself and Gracie on the front porch. It was from the summer before last, Gracie’s last. Barely visible on the porch floor was my last good flip flops. I’d bought them at Good Will - they were new - God how many years ago? - when I got them and they didn’t fit. I had to soak them in hot water and put cans of soup in the straps to make them bigger and then they were too big and I had to do it over again with pop cans to make them smaller. I cannot imagine that amount of energy - I wonder if I wanted them for one of my trips to Canada? I cannot imagine that commitment to making a pair of flip flops from Good Will fit. I guess I was younger then.

The sun is shining on the back of Grandma Hall’s rocking chair.

See?

Here’s another worthless picture. Sunrise through an extremely dirty window. We have new windows for these openings - we just haven’t put them in yet.

I’m like the Texan who traded in his Cadillac when the ash tray was full. I get new windows.

Anyway. Life is as lovely as we let it be. I’ve started using coffee filters in the hope that my coffee pots will last longer. What do you think? Once having made the investment in coffee filters I see the gain in ease of removing used coffee grounds. If that’s all the good I get that’s ok. I drink my coffee in pint glasses with a tablespoon of sugar less cocoa mix. ------ I told you that last time. Sorry. I’m old. I forget. I remember. Either way the listener suffers. I might call Dr. John Deloney with my talking too much problem. I wonder if he’d put me on the air.

So I have been poking in the ground a bit. I’m been reading a bit. I’m trying to eat well. Ha ha ha. I’d like a new pair of flip flops.. I don’t suppose I want to spend enough to get good ones. Or go through the hot water and soup can routine of making cheap ones fit.

I talked to my son and daughterinlaw. They said they would be down Memoial Day weekend. I still don’t want to get too deep into their story. It’s not bad. It’s just not something I want to talk about. Thank you for understanding. That is if you do. If you don’t, just pretend that I was smart enough to keep my mouth shut.

Last night Jim was gone so I fed the calves by myself. I mixed the milk too. I feel I did an ok job. Floyd and Pink seemed satisfied.

Beans are planted in the big field across the creek. Jim no-tilled them to various anxieties. It’s supposed to rain today and even into the future. Ordinarily beans are planted after corn rather than before - both are warm weather crops. Corn has legends - plant when the oak leaves are the size of squirrel ears. Plant when the soil is warm enough to sit on cofortably without your pants. And of course a lot of it is just getting it done. Neither corn nor beans will grow if they’re still in the bags in the shop.

I should have a farm picture. Ah, but I have a book picture. Did I post this already?

I fixed Silent Spring a little with three pieces of sticky tape. I always feel good when I fix a book.

The library is having an old people’s scam information meeting. I should go to see what kind of information they are offering. I do not feel vulnerable to that kind of thing… but who knows. Or maybe more to the point, who is?

If I go, I will try to report back to you on salient information. Whatever salient means. Do I ever report back on anything that I say I will? I kinda doubt it.

Oh well.

Jim wants to go to LaCrosse today because the beans are in and it’s supposed to rain. He wants to get an early start on a weekday so he can go to the shoe repair place. He needs new shoes and he will likely get a new pair as well or instead. Red Wings. The classic work shoes made just up the river. He’s careful and they last more than five years.

OK. Gotta go.
Lots of shoe stuff in this report.

Oh I”m reading Cannery Row. I read it years ago and fell in love with Monteray - did I tell you that last time? Perhaps. Repetition if the soul of long windedness.

See you all soon.


Just Annie April 26, 2024

I like it when you 'talk too much.' I find what you have to say very interesting. And oddly comforting.

I don't wear flip flops. I like sneakers. If I were to be buried when I die (I'm not, I'm going to insist on being roasted and toasted and scattered to the wind - or left in a cardboard box, I don't really care which upsets my sister greatly), they would put me in sneakers. Or tennis shoes. Maybe you call them gym shoes. I like them. I get black ones for the every season but summer. For summer, I pick out white ones and they stay white for only one wearing. Such is life.

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ April 26, 2024

I used to wear tennis shoes? Several decades ago I switched to Keenes, wide ones, and I get a lot of wear out of them. But I like walking in the dew and across creeks and I like a pair of shoes I can slip into and out of as I go out and come in. At heart I am a barefoot person. I know diabetes frowns on barefootedness but I can only aspire to so much virtue.
Thanks for your first sentence.

Brakeshoe Bob woman in the moon ⋅ April 29, 2024

Good footware important for him. Yep ya pay for boots, but they serve ya well

WhatDreamsMayCome April 26, 2024

I love the snippets you provide.
And if you’ve shared them before, maybe I don’t remember either!
😳😳🤓

woman in the moon WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ April 26, 2024

You gotta a point.

sambucasmile April 26, 2024

I read 'Of Mice and Men' loved it. :) Used to be a big reader but nowadays, I read stuff on my ipad. The last book I bought is Larousse Gastronomique a French cookery book.

Jinn April 26, 2024

I love the rocking chair picture . The other one is nice too. I have a thing for rocking chairs. I used to have several but Frank made me me cull them so I now have the oak mission style one I rocked my babies in ; bought a thrift shop in 1975 for $10.00. It turns out now it’s quite valuable but I will never part with it. I also have an antique upholstered one that I bought a couple years ago that I love . Also ten dollars but it’s comfy and very solid . Did I need it ? No . I just like it . Dave Ramsey would never approve of me .
We are sitting on a weekend that looks full of rain and potential storms. Yuck. I have to grocery shop so will be making myself go out anyway if we want to eat :-)
I am always fascinated by book pictures. I enlarge them so I can read all the titles ! I have been in a book reading slump lately and have one I want to finish today or tomorrow .
Have a great weekend.

noko April 27, 2024

That is a lot of work for a pair of flip flops. Good work, like feeding the calves and reading all those books.

NorthernSeeker April 28, 2024

The bottom photo is magnificent. I remember you taking Gracie for flip flop walks. I have one pair of flip flops...bought them at the dollar store. There is a pointy ridge on the part that sits in between your big toe and the others. It can be filed smooth and then they are much more comfortable.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ April 28, 2024

It's hard to find a good pair. I like the for dewy grass and trips through various creeks. I like the ease of on and off. That might be what I like best about a lot of things - the ease of on and off.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.