I can feel your Heartbleed for the very first time... in Site Updates

  • April 10, 2014, 6:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In response to the question of whether or not I've patched up the epic Heartbleed vulnerability, why yes I have. Is it a good idea to change your password? ABSOLUTELY.

If you haven't heard much about it, allow me to sum up. Heartbleed has been an easily exploitable bug living in the internet wild for about two years. It has potentially compromised over 60% of websites that use SSL (i.e. pages sent securely via https). It is impossible to know if or how long it's been exploited. The discovery was only made public this week.

In other words, it's not a bad idea to change ALL of your internet passwords (this also includes email, instant messaging, VPN, etc). Ah, the false illusion of security on the internet.


Deleted user April 10, 2014

Thank you for fixing it.

Deleted user April 10, 2014

Thanks for jumping on that.

Jigger April 10, 2014

So do we change all our passwords for everythings now, or wait a few days? I've been told both. Your judgement, I'd trust.

simple mind Jigger ⋅ April 10, 2014

It depends on whether any given website is still vulnerable or not. Also, a lot of sites will be reissuing and revoking SSL certificates and that could take time - so it's pretty subjective on what "vulnerable" could mean. Arguably you could change any passwords now, and do it again later if the website makes some official announcement that they've plugged any leaks.

Jigger simple mind ⋅ April 10, 2014

Okay, thanks for that...and I think it's cute that you think I can think of a memorable batch of new passwords twice. Do you not KNOW how often I hit my head?

simple mind Jigger ⋅ April 10, 2014

http://xkcd.com/936/

Jigger simple mind ⋅ April 10, 2014

Aw, now I gotta come up with four words, EACH? Crap.

;)

simple mind Jigger ⋅ April 10, 2014

correct jigger laparoscopic astronaut

(my apologies if you've already changed your Prosebox password to this and it's now compromised)

Jigger simple mind ⋅ April 10, 2014

DAMMIT.

Deleted user April 10, 2014

^ what Jigger said.

ConnieK April 10, 2014

It's not sentimental attachment for me as much as it is recalling things to my aging brain cells...but change them all, I did! :)

banker chick April 10, 2014

Ugh and I just changed all my passwords too. Now I'll have to come up with new ones? :)

Krud April 10, 2014

This might explain why my wife's debit card keeps getting hacked.

Krud April 10, 2014

Also, I hope other sites will give a heads up when they're patched.

Teflon Superhero April 10, 2014

Ha! I heard someone's was 1-2-3-4....is that not the stupidest thing you've ever heard in your life?? that's the kind of thing an idiot would put on their luggage! xD...

uh, you don't think luggage has been compromised, do you?...

simple mind Teflon Superhero ⋅ April 10, 2014

Reminds me of Dumb and Dumber...

Samsonite! I was way off.

Teflon Superhero simple mind ⋅ April 10, 2014

http://youtu.be/a6iW-8xPw3k

Now I have a Dumb and Dumber and Spaceballs mashup going on xD

simple mind Teflon Superhero ⋅ April 10, 2014

Oh yeah, Space balls! I knew your comment was directly from a movie but for some reason I landed on another movie.

NeonLady simple mind ⋅ April 10, 2014

Hahaha!

Deleted user April 11, 2014

Joke's on them, I spell "password1234" with an e on the end!

^H April 11, 2014

I told my wife to wait until next week to go ahead and update passwords just to make sure the sites had updated. "So I should tell my mother to stop using the Internet, right?" Yes, dear, that'd be a good thing for everyone.....

Ophidia April 11, 2014

Thank you, proseBoss. May I ask when it was fixed here? I changed my password here yesterday morning (US Pacific time), hopefully that was after it had been patched?

Loki April 13, 2014

  • shit. The fuck did I miss when I was off on holiday!? xD. But yeah. I heard this on other sites - I didn't know what the bug was called - but what a kerfuffle ._.
The Tranquil Loon April 16, 2014

love the video

Deleted user April 16, 2014

Hi - I just wondered if there was ever going to be a 'friends only' option or private? Or if there already is? As I can't seem to find it! T.I.A :)

H. Majesty T. Mudfish Queen April 17, 2014

oh shit. now I'm gonna worry my ass off.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.