April 17 - Blood! in These Foolish Things

  • April 17, 2024, 11:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My appointment yesterday actually turned out to be a little harder than I even thought it would be. I thought I had everything covered - and then the doc found two more additional suspicious spots than I’d even known about!

As the dermatologist left me in the room so he could prepare for the minor procedures and so the nurse could numb up all of the locations, I started to get a little cancer PTSD! I started to ask myself why I didn’t take a valium like I normally do before difficult doctor visits.

And my answer to myself was, it’s because I didn’t really think anything of this appointment and NOW that there’s going to be knives and blood involved, I’m freaking OUT! And there was a lot of blood. Did you know that scalps bleed a LOT? Add to that the fact that I still take a daily low-dose aspirin for my aneurysm and boom. Blood everywhere.

In the end it was fine, and I hope that all of the biopsies prove negative, but what’s done is done and I’m proud of myself for taking care of things.

I told myself I could give myself a little treat after it was all over, so I thought about getting myself a decadent flavored latte at a fancy coffee shop, but I couldn’t decide where to go and in the end, I went home and made myself a big ol’ bowl of protein oats topped with wild blueberries, drizzled with honey, sprinkled with cinnamon AND a giant, creamy, frothy latte and sat outside on the balcony in the fresh air and just breathed out.

Then, back to work. I have a lot of things to say about that, but I’ll save it. It’s nothing new.

But one positive sign that the doors aren’t closing tomorrow is that I’ve been asked to attend a trade show in Las Vegas in August. So there’s that!

The headhunter call on Monday was not fruitful, so onward on that front…

And I need to get ready for my travel back to [old city] for all my doc appointments on Friday. I’ll be staying with Marce on Friday night, then brunch with the girls on Saturday and Mom and Dad on Sunday. Whole weekend is already figured out.

So let’s get the day started, shall we? Off to my workout!

xo,
GS


Jinn April 17, 2024

Glad you got it taken care of !

woman in the moon April 17, 2024

Good to get medical stuff DONE.
Best wishes on the job front.
LIfe is just so full of stuff.
Sounds like a good weekend though.
Best wishes for it to turn out that way.

Skeletor April 17, 2024

The protein oats sound amazing!
I’ve had a few head injuries and I know scalps are super bleeders 😖. I will be keeping you in my thoughts and warding off the evil mess 😤 here’s to a great Wednesday!

Ginger Snap Skeletor ⋅ April 17, 2024

That's so nice of you, thank you!

Skeletor Ginger Snap ⋅ April 18, 2024

Just bein myself 😊

Lux Lunae April 18, 2024

I hope all the results are negative too. It's not easy facing these kinds of things.
Love the way you took care of yourself after the appointment though. Similarly I love making my own latte/coffee and my favourite meal is carbonaut bread with nut butter and a banana. Simple yet satisfying every time. Your oats sounded so serene.

So nice that you'll have a weekend with friends to help with the stress of the appointments this week. What a great way to recuperate. hugs

Ginger Snap Lux Lunae ⋅ April 18, 2024

Thank you. I'm soooo looking forward to seeing my peeps this weekend. It will be such a nice self-care weekend, yes!

WhatDreamsMayCome April 19, 2024

Hoping for good results!

Gangleri April 21, 2024

All scalp wounds are gushers. There's some pretty important stuff there your body wants to keep running, after all. ;)

Ginger Snap Gangleri ⋅ April 22, 2024

You're SO right!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.